Avoiding Crisis

a meme virgin no more!

leave a comment »

Enough with the serious postings and the focus on others, it’s about time to get back to the really important stuff – ME!  Yeah, good idea.  Slight problem.  What they hell should I write?  I’ve already divulged some of my deepest darkest secrets, what else could you possibly want to know?  

How about….hmmm.  Okay, I give up.  But wait, I don’t need to come up with anything, there are like a million questions just floating around in the blogosphere just waiting to be answered.  Time to jump on yet another bandwagon.

I came across this meme today on Mimi Writes.  According to Mimi, the original meme, which was 50 questions, was cut down to 33.  I’ve taken the liberty to make it an even 30.  Why you ask?  Why not?  This blog is all about the big 3-0 after all isn’t it?  (Oh and if you’re totally lost as to what a meme is, like I was when I started this whole blog thing, not to worry, here’s a pretty basic explanation.)

  1. Were you named after anyone?  
    • Yes, my father’s father (which would make that my grandfather, duh!).  His name was Nicolo.  I never met him.  He died before I was born. And yes, that is kinda sad.
  2. When was the last time you cried? 
    • Saturday, February 17th.  That was the day my parents left Buenos Aires after having spent a week and a half visiting us.  My daughter, in all her innocence, asked them to stay and play because she was having so much fun. She just couldn’t understand why they had to go.  And you thought I’d say when I posted on March 1st – nope that doesn’t get me all choked up anymore – though it sure does make my mom cry.  (Sorry mom.)
  3. What is your favorite lunchmeat? 
    • When I’m in the United States, it’s definitely turkey.  In Argentina, I’d have to say ham.  And when I was a kid, believe it or not, I loved bologna. My bologna has a first name it’s O-S-C-A-R….I digress.
  4. Do you have kids? 
    • Yuppers.  2 rugrats —  Abbey is 4 and Owen 2.  Eh, actually, make that 3, I forgot to count my husband.
  5. If you were another person would you be friends with you?  
    • Sure, why not.  I kinda like myself these days. 
  6. Do you use sarcasm a lot? 
    • Sometimes.  But I’m not all that good at using sarcasm in my writing…just doesn’t translate well.
  7. Would you bungee jump? 
    • There was a time – say 10 years ago – that I was all about bungee jumping and doing other crazy things like that.  Things, which had I had the opportunity to do at that time, I totally would have done.  That time though has passed and I’m very happy with two feet planted firmly on the ground.
  8. What is your favorite cereal?
    • Quaker 100% Natural Granola Oats & Honey (hold the raisins). Oh how I blame my husband for getting me hooked.  It’s all his darn fault.  Though, sometimes, I must admit, I crave Frosted Flakes and Cinnamon Toast Crunch – but not together.
  9. Do you untie your shoes when you take them off?
    • No way…takes too much time.
  10. Do you think you are strong?
    • Physically, for someone of my size, I can hold my own.  You try carrying around a 40 pound 2 year old all the time and see what that does to your arms and back muscles.  Mentally, years of therapy has made me pretty tough.  I can handle most anything.  Emotionally, I’m a big cry baby.
  11. What is your favorite ice cream?
    • Cafe from Persicco– sorry, but you’ll have to fly to Buenos Aires to get a taste.
  12. What is the first thing you notice about people? 
    • Their eyebrows. I know, it’s weird.
  13. Red or pink?
    • Neither.  I’m not really a color person.  Though I did cave in and paint my daughters room pink.  She likes pink.  No, let me correct that, she LOVES pink and her love of pink more than makes up for the lack of pink in my life.
  14. What is your least favorite thing about yourself?
    • That I can’t see in myself what others see.  That I have low self-esteem.  That I’m too afraid to take risks. (Oh, was I supposed to say only one?)
  15. Who do you mess with the most?
    • My daughter.  It’s just SO much fun to see her reactions.  Like after we watched the Wizard of Oz I told her that I would melt if I got wet because I was a witch (hey, it’s not that far from the truth, my fathers’s nickname for me is the “wicked witch of the west” after all) and when we got stuck in a rainstorm the other day she was terrified that I’d end up as a puddle of goo on the side of the road.  It was precious.   
  16. What was the last thing you ate?
    • A chocolate chip cookie – what can I say, the kids were having desert after diner and I couldn’t resist.
  17.  What are you listening to right now? 
    • The sounds of my children playing outside.
  18. Who was the last person you talked to on the phone?
    • My husband.
  19. Last movie you watched?
    • Sum of All Fears – it was on TV the other night.
  20. What did you dream about last night?
    • I have absolutely no clue.  I never remember my dreams. Honest.
  21. What book are you reading?
    • I’m not.  I have a stack of books sitting on my nightstand ready to be started but I haven’t found the time.  I spend most of my reading time these days reading other people’s blogs.
  22. Summer or winter?
    • Fall and Spring.  I don’t like extreme temperatures.
  23. Hugs or kisses?
    • Hugs and Kisses. Especially big bear hugs from my son and Eskimo kisses from my daughter.
  24. Do you have any special talents?
    • Sure, I guess.
  25. What are they?
    • I can make really good hummus and I’ve got a talent for fixing small appliances. 
  26. What did you watch on TV last?   
  27. What is your favorite sound? 
    • Laughter, especially when it comes from my kids
  28. Rolling Stones or The Beatles?
    • The Beatles
  29. Most likely to respond to this meme?
    • Someone I personally don’t know since none of my friends seem to ever respond to anything I write. And maybe, my older brother.  I’m sure he’ll find something contradictory in what I’ve written and have to point it out to me.
  30. Least likely to respond?
    • My husband. He doesn’t do blogs.

Written by nicolemarie

March 5, 2007 at 10:47 pm

Posted in general, lists, meme

Leave a comment