Avoiding Crisis

210 days and counting

with one comment

I turn 30 in 210 days.  Hence the title of this blog and its theme.  I have made a promise to myself that I will write everyday and maybe even several times a day from now until my 30th birthday.  I will write about what I am thinking, what I am feeling, and how I am dealing (or not dealing) with life.  I will write about my hopes and my dreams, my accomplishments and my failures.  I will write about all those things that I’ve always wanted to write about but was too embarrassed to put out there for others to know.  I will write about myself and about my relationships.  I will make myself vulnerable.  I will write about my family.  though this will not be about my family, it will not focus on my children nor my husband, it will focus on me.  I will write about my friends and about random people that I meet.  It will be my own musings about my life and what it means to me to be turning 30.  I will whine and complain at times…get used to it, that’s just the way I am. I will be serious and I will try (emphasis on try) to be funny.  I may even scream, throw a fit, and/or cry.  I promise to tell the truth as much as possible, but I reserve the right to exaggerate if only to add drama to what otherwise would be something very dull and boring.  I will write because I’ve always wanted to write and I will share it with whom ever will read it because maybe, just maybe, someone will enjoy this and keep on reading.  But don’t worry this will not go on forever…think of this as a telenovela and not a soap opera…only 209 more days to go.  i promise.   

Written by nicolemarie

January 11, 2007 at 4:26 pm

Posted in general, life, memoirs, thirty

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi

    I’ve just started reading, and one thought is burning away in my head so fiercely I have to get it down.

    What’s so bad about being 30?

    Once, when I was in my early 30s, I was talking with a Wise Older Woman about the benefits of growing older – (the key is in the word “growing”, you see). I said “I wouldn’t be twenty again”. I couldn’t bear the naivete, folly and pain involved in being that newly out of the earth.

    The Wiser Older Woman leant forwards, put her hand on mine and said “my Dear, I wouldn’t be sixty again!”

    “Way to go!” I thought.

    Being firm and beautiful is nature’s way of compensating the young, you know.

    Anyway, on to your blog. I just had to get that off my chest.

    All the best

    Aphra.

    Aphra Behn

    February 2, 2007 at 6:12 am


Leave a comment