Avoiding Crisis

getting settled

with 2 comments

It’s only been 12 days since we arrived in the US.  It seems like we’ve been here a whole lot longer.  We’ve had a very very busy past 2 weeks…hence the silence on this here blog.   As Courtney pointed out not to long ago “blogging and moving do not go hand-in-hand.”  Oh no they don’t.  I might have to expand on that and say that moving and just about everything — calling old friends, returning emails, tweezing my eyebrows, catching up on senseless celebrity gossip a la perezhilton — don’t go hand-in-hand. 

We sent our first week back in the United States in Virginia at my mother-in-law’s house. We typically make a stop there on any vacation that we take to the US, so aside from a little thing like buying a car, it felt like we were on one of our vacations.

last weekend we packed up the car, the shiny new car, and drove 3.5 hours south to NC.  It still didn’t feel quite real.  Then we arrived at my brother’s house in Durham, dragged all of our crap into the house and started to unpack, and settled in a bit.  Then, all of a sudden, out of know where, it hit me, like a ton of bricks.  That same feeling I’ve had twice before when I arrived at my new house in a new country.  That same overwhelming, oh my gosh, what have i gotten myself into feeling that makes me want to crawl under a bed and hide from the world.  That same feeling that always precipitates panic attacks.  I was in my brother’s house, in the country that I grew up in, in a country where they spoke English, my native language, and yet still I was having this feeling.     

we are currently in durham, nc staying with my brother and pregnant sister-in-law.  it’s going as well as can be expected, staying with them that is.  nothing like adding four more people to a house only used to two. The kids are having a great time hanging out with their uncle and aunt, which is a great distraction from this whole transition.  Abbey is having a particularly difficult time with the move and continues to ask about going back “home.”  As a result she’s not sleeping all to well, which means that we aren’t sleeping at all.   But everyday it seems to be getting better.

Aside from trying to get used to being back in the US we have been spending all of our time meeting with schools, potential therapists for Owen, doctors and looking for a house.  Everything has gone surprisingly well thus far and we feel that we have finally made progress in getting Owen the services that he needs.  While we still have a while before we get everything set up and started, at least we’ve began the process.  On the house front we have put a bid on a home and hopefully will hear something by Tuesday afternoon.  Keep your fingers crossed for us!

This week brings more meetings and more time to get settled in.  Hopefully I’ll have some time to keep you all updated on what’s going on around here. 

until next time.

Written by nicolemarie

April 27, 2008 at 11:36 pm

Posted in life

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I have been thinking of you, so I truly appreciate the update! I will keep my fingers crossed for the house and also for you to have an easier week.

    Julie

    April 28, 2008 at 10:05 am

  2. Any word on the house?

    Julie

    April 30, 2008 at 7:19 am


Leave a Reply

