Avoiding Crisis

sorry and other updates

with 5 comments

I seem to be apologizing a lot lately for not writing and for not keeping up with this blog.  I know that there is no reason to be sorry for this, but it is only my nature to feel like I’m letting down those people who actually do read this blog in order to keep up with us. 

based on my last post you can only imagine that life has taken some dramatic turns. 

so not only have we recently found out that Owen is on the autism spectrum and has been diagnosed with Pervasive Development Disorder – Not Otherwise Specified(or PDD-NOS for short) but we also found out that A has been assigned to the field office in Greensboro, NC. So….what does this all mean?

It means that my life has been a bit crazy trying to 1) understand what this diagnosis means for Owen, 2) research school districts in the NC counties that we are looking at moving into, 3) contact school districts and find out the process for getting services for a special needs child, 4) find the appropriate therapies here in Buenos Aires, 5) house-hunt, 6) job-search, 8) update my resume, 7)  decide when is the best time to leave Buenos Aires and move to NC and 8) not forget that I have a daughter who needs me too and who started Kindergarten today!!!

I’m a bit overwhelmed, if you can imagine.  I have good days and bad ones.  Today is kinda crappy – i think i’ll blame it on the weather.

Looks like Owen and I will leave Argentina in April with A and Abbey following a month or two later.  Nothing is set in stone but this is general plan. 

One thing at a time, one day at a time. I keep repeating. 

It will all be okay.  I know that.  I do.  

I just wish it wasn’t raining today.   

Written by nicolemarie

February 28, 2008 at 10:47 am

Posted in life

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I cannot imagine what you are going through, but I bet all your research skills are helping. I am praying for yall!

    Julie

    February 28, 2008 at 5:12 pm

  2. Wow…just, wow. Well. So. I am sorry to hear about owen but I know from what you’ve shared about his personality and the kind of mother you obviously are that he will be just fine…he’ll need help and therapy but he WILL be absolutely okay.
    How do you feel about returning to the states? I lived in NC for two years and LOVED it.

    Courtney

    February 28, 2008 at 11:35 pm

  3. Hey Nicole,

    I’m sure you have so much on your plate right now, but you’re right that everything will work out fine, and Owen will do great.

    I’m sure you’re doing tons of research right now, but I just wanted to let you know that while I was living at home I worked at a place called Lindamood-Bell Learning Processes. They do a lot of cognitive processing and language/speech/reading development, among many other things, and the program is pretty incredible. While I was there I had many students who had been diagnosed with PDD-NOS, so I thought it might be worth your while to look into. I don’t know where the closest center would be to you when you move to NC (exciting, by the way), but I also know they’ve been doing a lot of branching out into school systems and things like that (again, not sure exactly which schools have trained teachers or programs in them). Just wanted to let you know in case you hadn’t come across it yet!

    And p.s. I say it’s okay to blame the weather 🙂 Everything will be fine. We’re thinking of you guys!

    Sara

    March 1, 2008 at 12:43 am

  4. you are always in my thoughts and prayers. love you and miss you

    Michele

    March 2, 2008 at 1:53 pm

  5. Hi Nicole,

    One day at a time is the only way to do it…
    Take care of your family the best you can, don’t forget to take a moment for yourself if you can and good luck with the house hunting.

    we are thinking about you,

    Melanie, sitting on the floor of an empty living room in Virginia, using borrowed internet (viva el wifi!!)

    melanie08

    March 9, 2008 at 11:28 pm


Leave a Reply

