Avoiding Crisis

confession

with 6 comments

I have never bought a new automobile.  Come to think of it, I’ve never actually owned a car, used or new.   This little detail used to bother me.  I used to think that I couldn’t be considered a legitimate, independent and responsible adult if I hadn’t bought/owned a car.

I don’t think this anymore. I now think that buying a new car, going through the painful process of buying a car, is just an annoying, confusing, stressful experience that one should avoid at all costs.

I learned to drive using my mom’s dark metallic green Volvo.  I got my license and immedaately learned to drive a stick shift so I could have my father’s metallic silver Ford Probe – it was way cooler then the other car available to my brothers and I, a black Delta 88 Oldsmobile with Cranberry color interior.  Oh how I disliked that interior.  After high school, I drove my brother’s hand-me-down SUV Mazda Navajo on my weekend escapes out of NYC.  When I moved to DC after Barnard I didn’t need a car to get around and then when I moved out to Northern Virginia with A, I either used his Toyota 4Runner or borrowed his mom’s second car, a fun sporty fire engine red Toyota MR2.  And it was that way until we moved overseas.  A’s trusty black Toyota 4Runner has been my main form of transportation for the past 5 years.  And while most people would consider it my car, I a) didn’t play a role in the purchasing of the vehicle and b) my name doesn’t appear on the title. 

Since we are moving back to the States in 5 months, the plan is to sell the 4Runner in Argentina and buy a new car. We’d like to have a car ready and waiting for us when we get off the plane and therefore we have to make a decision on what to buy before we return. And seeing how this vacation we are on right now is our only oportunity to shop for cars, we kinda have to make a decision sooner rather than later.  No pressure. 

We’ve been car shopping over the past few weeks.  I driven 3 different cars over the past 3 days.  I have absolutely no clue which car we should buy.  And, really, I’m not sure if I care.  I mean, I always wanted to have a hand in buying a car, I always wanted to make that decision, sign the contract, and drive a brand new vehicle, my vehicle, off the lot.  It’s totally over rated.  I know that now.

So we’ve narrowed our options down to two – the Toyota 4Runner or the Nissan Pathfinder.  The Honda Pilot was up there with the other two until today’s test drive.  A is leaning towards the 4Runner (he’s very brand loyal) and I towards the Pathfinder (cause I like the standard third row seats). 

I’m beginning to think that I was better off not knowing what I was missing out on.  

Written by nicolemarie

January 30, 2008 at 12:00 am

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Steve has been researching cars for years now. He has been planning on buying a new one before we were married. He is getting closer now since he needs something to pull his boat 🙂 He knows a lot about them if yall have any questions.

    Julie

    January 30, 2008 at 2:37 pm

  2. I did lots of research and ended up with the Pilot, we love it. It is the first car I have done the research and picked out myself, It is the car I drive and so hubby let me do all the work, he just handed over the cash.

    The mother hen

    January 30, 2008 at 4:57 pm

  3. Back off the Delta 88!!!! It was a great car. Actually had a big engine and was rather quick. The interior was great. And don’t even think of complaining about the Navajo. I still miss that one.

    mike

    January 30, 2008 at 9:22 pm

  4. I lOvE the process of buying a new car! The weeks/months of research, comparing specs, checking edmunds.com for going prices, test-driving, and then (the best part) negotiating price! I love the adrenaline rush followed by the victory of getting it just above the dealer’s (alleged) cost.

    I also like brussels sprouts.

    april

    February 1, 2008 at 9:47 pm

  5. Buy American!!!! Or maybe Korean, if your looking for Quality and price. Especially if your heading back to the States. If your looking at Pathfinder, your Jeweler likes her Hybrid.

    dave

    February 9, 2008 at 11:55 pm

  6. Great post!! I just have to copy it, I have written a blog about used cars, please come visit my site when u have time ^_^

    Liz Rice

    December 29, 2009 at 9:38 am


Leave a Reply

