Avoiding Crisis

happy birthday abbey

with 2 comments

Dear my darling baby Abigail,

Five years ago today you were born.  5 years ago today I became a mother.  5 years ago today my life change forever, for the better. 

Your father and I were finishing up a major home remodeling project when you decided it was time to join our family.  We had completed almost everything but hadn’t yet put down the new berber carpet that we had decided on or finished painting your nursery.  Daddy thought the nursery could wait but that the carpet had to be completed before we went to the hospital. 

I started to feel a little bit different early in the afternoon but chalked it up to nothing more than false labor. It was still a few days before your expected due date and the doctors had warned me that it was normal for a first baby to be late.  Around 5pm Gramma K and I headed out to Lowes to pick up the carpet while Daddy and Uncle Dave finished readying the basement floor.  I had this strange craving for a coke, which was a bit odd seeing how I’m not a soda pop drinker, so I grabbed two while we head out the door.  I don’t think I have ever drank soda that fast.  Both of them.  I bought another from a vending machine when we left Lowes.  That coke never tasted so good.

When we got back to the house Daddy and Uncle Dave proceeded to lay the carpet down.  I spent most the the evening laying on and rolling around on the floor, the newly carpeted floor, pretending that I wasn’t in labor.  Daddy said that I wasn’t allowed to be in labor until the work was done.  He told me that you weren’t going to be born until the basement was finished.  

I went to bed. I slept a few hours in bed, woke up and moved to the couch, woke up and moved back to bed, woke up, woke daddy up, woke the doctor up.  It was sometime between 4 and 5 in the morning.

The doctor told me to wait and call later.   

I called back at 8AM.  He said to get to the hospital.

You were born 8 hours later.  You didn’t give me too much trouble.  You’ve been making up for it every since.

Today, 5 years ago, that was one of the most incredibly amazing momentous and unforgettable days in my life.

Today was fun too!  Thanks for being you and for being special and for being my daughter.

I love you.

Love, Mom

Written by nicolemarie

January 18, 2008 at 10:09 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That’s beautiful! Makes me excited for my “big day” to get here. Thanks for sharing!

    Billie

    January 19, 2008 at 7:20 pm

  2. billie – you don’t have to wait too much longer!!! excited to see the first pictures on your blog. good luck.

    nicolemarie

    January 20, 2008 at 10:26 am


Leave a Reply

