Avoiding Crisis

369 days

with 4 comments

My blog, this blog, is officially 1 year and 4 days old.  That’s a whole lot more then the 210 days I said I was going to write for.  Feels kinda good to have kept at it all this time. Without you, my lovely wonderful faithful readers, I probably would have given up long ago.  So thank you.  Thank you for coming along on this journey with me, for reading the good, the bad and the all too often boring crap that I have filled these cyberspace pages with.      

I would have blogged on the actual day that this here baby of a blog turned 365 days old but instead I was packing and getting ready for a nearly 9 hour flight to the United States with two sick kids. Yes you read that correctly, I did in deed write SICK.   I didn’t actually know that they were sick at the time we were getting ready to leave,  but they were, which explains SO much about that last day before our vacation.  It was a tough day filled with a whole lot of bickering and whining.  I thought that it was just the kids being nervous about flying or the excitement of the anticipation of going on a trip, but I was wrong.

It was around 4pm when I finally realized that something was wrong.  That was about the time that Abbey lay her little head on a pillow while sprawled out on the couch watching television and fell asleep.  She NEVER naps.  She hasn’t napped since the day her little brother was born.  She only ever naps when she has a fever.  She had a fever.  Not a particularly high fever but it was a fever. Tylenol made it all better. It always does. We went to the airport.

Getting through the airport was a disaster, with a capital D in extra bold face type.  I’m not going to go into the details but I will tell you that after waiting a little over an hour in line just to check in for our flight with two sleeping kids, 4 pieces of luggage, 3 carry-on bags, Owen woke up, started screaming and then threw up.  It was lovely.  Just lovely.

The flight itself was rather uneventful as the kids slept most of the way — comatose, I think, with high fevers.

I thought that it was just a little bug that would last 24 hours and then we’d be done with it and get on with our vacation.  Was I ever wrong!  Four days later and both kids are still very sick.  They both have Strep Throat and Owen has an ear infection on top of it.  Neither of the kids have been sleeping through the night which means that neither A nor I have been sleeping at all.

I’m tired.  Very tired.  Very very tired. And I have a sore throat. 

Antibiotics are my friend.  My best friend. 

Oh yeah, happy blog birthday.  4 days late.

Written by nicolemarie

January 15, 2008 at 11:47 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. wow, you aren’t the only blogger I read who has recently flown to the US and landed with kids with strep. I’m so sorry. I really hope they start to feel better soon, and you can get on with your vacation.

    ethansmama

    January 16, 2008 at 1:01 pm

  2. Just to make you feel better . My oldest had strep. What a pain.

    Cleia Peterson

    January 16, 2008 at 2:45 pm

  3. Happy Birthday to the blog and hope everyone is feeling better!

    Julie

    January 17, 2008 at 9:07 am

  4. Happy Birthday to Abbey! Is she better?

    Julie

    January 18, 2008 at 3:13 pm


Leave a Reply

