Avoiding Crisis

The waiting is over…

with 4 comments

Tonight we leave for a 5 week vacation to the US.  I’m excited about going ’cause it means getting to spend time with my parents, visting my grandparents, seeing my brother and sister-in-law, celebrating Abbey’s birthday with the family, and catching up with some dear friends who I haven’t seen in years.  And yet, at the same time, I’m so not excited about this trip ’cause it means departing Buenos Aires at 11:05PM with what I’m sure will be two very tired and cranky kids, spending 8.5 hours on a plane with two very tired and cranky kids, arriving in Miami at 4:45AM being very tired and cranky, spending 5 whole weeks living with my parents, spending 5 whole weeks in the US (somehting I haven’t done in a little over 3 years!), listening to the dissapointment in the voices of friends and family who we won’t be able to see, and having to talk about the upcoming move back to the United States with very very excited family and friends without seeming too disspaointed.  Still, I’m looking forward to it.  At least I think I am.

Oh, I feel the panic setting in.    

This whole trip was only supposed to last 3 weeks.  Three weeks is a good amount of time for a trip back to the US; 5 weeks is stretching it a bit.  It started out as 3 weeks, which is about all I could convince A to take off of work, but was increased to 4 to accomodate 5 days in Disney and a trip to NJ to see my grandparents. And then, an additional week was added in order to have Owen tested at a Child Development Center for learning delays and behavioral issues, per his school’s request. (An issue that I’m sure I’ll deal with when we get closer to the testing).

A will be with us for the first 3 weeks and then head back to Buenos Aires for a week and then rejoin us in Miami for Owen’s testing.

I’m really torn about this trip.  We’ve been planning it for so long that it feels rather anticlimatic now that it’s finally here.  And, when we planned it we weren’t expecting to be moving back to live in the US in only 6 months time.  Actually we were thinking that this would be the last trip back in a while as we extpected to be heading to another overseas post and had planned on deferring our home leave (a trip back to the US between overseas assignments that typically lasts a month) so that we could be settled in before Abbey started Kindergarten.  So this was always supposed to be our last big trip home for a while. 

Oh how life takes intersting and unexpected turns.

On another note, A wants us to “disconenct” during out vacation.  While I think that this is a well intentioned idea, I’m just not sure how realitic is is.  Still, I promised to try.  I have pledged to spend a lot less time online and more time focusing on reading, journaling, and working out, the latter of which I haven’t done since two weeks before Christmas, ugh!  So, that being said, I’ll be checking in from time to time and lettnig you know how things are going.  I’m sure I’ll post photos, I suspect that this will be particually true when we are in Disney. And, if, during these 5 weeks, we happen to find out where we are moving to next, I’ll let you all know.  I promise.

I’m off to finish packing.

Written by nicolemarie

January 11, 2008 at 7:02 am

Posted in crazy adventures

Tagged with ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I hope yall had a safe trip home. I am looking forward to seeing the disney pictures.

    Julie

    January 13, 2008 at 3:15 pm

  2. Did yall get any snow?

    Julie

    January 14, 2008 at 12:57 pm

  3. seen you soon =)

    Michele

    January 14, 2008 at 9:27 pm

  4. Just try flying 16 hours in a plane than 6 hours than 45 minutes. That’s how it takes to get to Burma. Bueno Aires is a piece of cake. Good Luck!

    Cleia Peterson

    January 16, 2008 at 2:54 pm


Leave a Reply

