Avoiding Crisis

Happy Birthday Owen!

with 3 comments

My sweet, adorable, lovable and oh so huggable baby boy is 3!

owen cake

Three years ago today I was in NY staying with my parents in the same house that I grew up in. It was bitter cold. Snow had fallen the night before and the roads were covered with a wet slushy mess. I remember that A was worried about the road conditions. I had an 8AM appointment to be induced at a hospital that was 30 miles away. We kissed Abbey goodbye and got on our way. We stopped at Dunkin Donuts for coffee and something to eat. I didn’t talk much the rest of the way. I guess I was a bit nervous. I got settled in at the hospital and waited for the doctor to get the show on the road. He started me on Pitocin at 8:30AM. I had an epidural at 8:31AM. (If there was one thing I learned with my first labor it was that Pitocin = epidural! Don’t ever let anyone tell you otherwise.) AND…Owen was born two hours later. That’s it. That’s all. Nothing more exciting or interesting really. It was so quick it was like a non-event event. Really. These past few years, though, he’s been more than making up for his boring entry into the world with all his nutty and zany antics.

p.s…. Owen gave me a birthday present on his birthday. He is officially potty trained! No more changing diapers. Of course now that I’ve written this down I’m sure we’ll have a day from poopy hell tomorrow and I’ll be cleaning up crap and pee most of the day. What a lovely thought.

p.p.s…here’s the CAKE.

Written by nicolemarie

January 6, 2008 at 8:51 pm

Posted in crazy cakes, crazy kids

Tagged with , ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love the cake. It is the cutest thing. Let me know how you did it. Stegosaurs is my favorite dinosaur. Happy Birthday Owen.

    Cleia Peterson

    January 7, 2008 at 7:06 pm

  2. Wow…looks great. Yummy too I bet. What was Owne’s reaction to it?

    michelle c.

    January 8, 2008 at 11:09 am

  3. The cake turned out so well! I love it. Looks like he liked it, too. Cute picture. 🙂

    Jennie

    January 8, 2008 at 5:01 pm


Leave a Reply

