Avoiding Crisis

shattered

with 3 comments

When we moved to Peru the first thing we did when our car arrived via boat, a very slow boat I might add, was have the windows protected with a special film that makes them much harder to shatter. And therefore much harder to break into your car while you’re stopped at a light on a crowded street. It’s one of those things you do but never really want to know if it works or not. Well, today, 4.5 years later, I found out that the special film does indeed work.

See, it was either test the film or get hit head on by a bus. And my experience with Argentine buses is that they don’t stop for any one and it best to get out of there way. But my getting out of the bus’s way meant side swiping a parked truck. And there must have been something sticking out of the side of this truck because it knocked my passenger side rear view mirror off, shattered the front window and left a nasty little dent in the front passenger side door and a scratch down the entire side of the car.

I’m thinking that given my options I chose wisely.

updated to add: I guess I should have been a bit more specific with some details of this story seeing how I’m getting phone calls and emails from concerned friends…I’m perfectly fine.  Not hurt at all, well, aside from my ego.  The car is another story and we will have to have that fixed.  The kids were NOT with me.  But the first comment out of Abbey’s mouth when we saw the window and the door was “oooooh, daddy’s going to be mad. mommy’s in trouble.” where does she come up with such things?

Written by nicolemarie

December 28, 2007 at 9:32 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Is everyone okay?

    Julie

    December 30, 2007 at 9:01 am

  2. Glad you are okay!

    Julie

    December 30, 2007 at 5:40 pm

  3. It is scary!!Hope you are all right??

    Cleia Peterson

    December 31, 2007 at 12:25 am


Leave a Reply

