Avoiding Crisis

spidey for my baby

with 6 comments

It’s common around here for those children with birthdays during the summer vacation months (in other words, when school’s out)to have parties either before Christmas and therefore before everyone packs up and leaves for Punta del Este, Pinamar or Carilo or in March after school restarts. You can’t imagine all the parties we attend during the months of Nov/Dec and March.  It’s obscene. AND exhausting.

It happens that both of my children’s birthdays are in January (and contrary to popular belief, it was not at all planned that way) so we happen to fall into this category. However, in the two and a half years that we’ve been here I have never followed this trend and have always had the kids birthday parties on or as close to their actual birth date as possible.  It makes for a less confused child, especially when they’re turning 3.  This year however, because we are leaving for a 5 week trip to the States in January, and because Arran’s mom is visiting and leaving before Owen’s actual birthday, we decided to have Owen’s party a bit early.  And for all of you concerned with Abbey, her birthday will be celebrated in FL, on her actual birthday with a small family party at my parent’s house, then during a week long trip to Disney and finally with a small girls-only party at in the end of February.  I think she’ll be just fine.

So we had Owen’s party this past Monday and it was a huge success. I will post pictures and videos of the event closer to his real birthday but today I wanted to share with you all my new cake creation.

IMG_0844

I can’t take credit for the shape of the cake (it’s a wilton cake pan) nor the colors of the icing (my mother-in-law was the colorist this time) but I can take 100% credit for the decorating. I was pleased with how it came out (as was Owen) but must admit that it was a lot harder then it looks and took a lot longer then i have anticipated. It might be a while until I try my hand at this one again.

Written by nicolemarie

December 19, 2007 at 7:19 am

Posted in crazy cakes

Tagged with , , ,

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That is awesome! You have a real talent for cake decorating and lots of patience.

    Julie

    December 19, 2007 at 7:41 am

  2. That is a very nice cake. We will be in Fl at disney in Feb. too, we need a break from all the cold weather and snow here in Seattle

    ethansmama

    December 19, 2007 at 2:52 pm

  3. Amazing cake!

    Jennie

    December 19, 2007 at 3:29 pm

  4. Another cute cake–well done! Sorry Julian missed the celebration!

    Angela

    December 19, 2007 at 8:32 pm

  5. Another cute cake–well done! Sorry Julian missed the celebration!

    Angela

    December 19, 2007 at 8:34 pm

  6. This cake is awesome!! I wish I had this talent. But I don’t think I’d have enough patience to sit there and decorate it 🙂

    billie

    December 20, 2007 at 4:36 pm


Leave a Reply

