Avoiding Crisis

the pity party is officially over

with 2 comments

or at least that’s what I’m telling myself. 

Have you ever have one of those moments when someone asks you a simple question like “what’s up?” and find yourself mute and unable to answer this very simple question?  That you can’t seem to immediately come up with the words “nothing much.  what’s up with you”?  You eventually answer the question, after a few seconds of hesitation and a slight look of confusion on your face, but only because answering it is like breathing, it’s involuntary.

Sometimes I find that when I’m asked a simple question like “how are you?” or “what have you been up to?”, which are practically non-questions really, I think too much about the answer.  I know that the person asking the question only wants a simple response such as “I’m fine”  or “Things are great” and that they aren’t looking for some in-depth analysis of my current life. I get this, I do. I’ve mastered basic social skills (At least I like to think I have.)  And I answer the question accordingly, with the expected and anticipated response.   

But sometimes with a simple question like “how are you”  I get stuck and then I obsess.  So while I answer, “I’m good,”  the wheels in my head are turning and working on overdrive trying to figure out how i am really.  It’s at this point that I become distant and while I try to remain engaged in the conversation and the niceties that follow, my mind is elsewhere.  And so I end up being stuck inside my own head mulling around and making things worse for myself.  Which I think is why people often find me spacey or easily distracted.

I’m done walking around with my head stuck in a cloud. I’m done feeling lost and alone and confused. I”m done with this little pity party that I’ve been throwing for myself.  I really have to stop thinking too much into everything. 

Written by nicolemarie

November 21, 2007 at 10:59 am

Posted in moods, poem

Tagged with , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Glad to hear the sky has cleared. Have a great Thanksgiving.

    pistolpete

    November 21, 2007 at 12:38 pm

  2. not yet sure that blue skies are ahead, but maybe the power of positive thinking will make some of the dark clouds go away.

    wishing you a happy thanksgiving too.

    nicolemarie

    November 21, 2007 at 5:30 pm


Leave a Reply

