Avoiding Crisis

we all have a story to tell…

leave a comment »

…it’s just that some are more interesting than others. 

When I finished reading The Glass Castle I was left thinking about my own story.   We all have a story to tell, don’t we?  Sometimes I think (or, at least, at one point, I thought)  that I have an interesting tale to tell.  That sharing my own experiences and my own struggles would help others to know that they are not alone.  But after reading her story, I felt like mine was so uninteresting – just really plane boring.  So what if I suffered from depression and anxiety.  A lot of people do.  So what if I cut myself, if I drank too much, put myself into abusive relationships and thought that was all I deserved.  My story is just like so many others.  It’s not unique or different. Plus, I sound like a little spoiled brat whining about how unfair things have been when I try to talk about it.  I didn’t have it so bad.  I know that.  There are so many worse off then me.  But tell me, then, why was growing up so darn hard?  Why did I have the problems that I had? Why did I do the things I did? Why couldn’t it have been different?

Written by nicolemarie

November 13, 2007 at 10:05 am

Leave a comment