Avoiding Crisis

her two uncles

with one comment

This morning, on the way to school, randomly, out of no where, Abbey says “Mommy, maybe one day Owen will marry Graham like Uncle Mark married Uncle Greg.”   “What?” I asked.  Making sure I heard her correctly over the screams of her brother.  “Owen loves Graham, so maybe one day they will get married like Uncle Mark and Uncle Greg” she answered.  “Well, yes, sweety, that is possible, I guess, but no one is getting married anytime soon,” I responded, really not sure what to say without 1) making this too complicated and/or 2) biasing her understanding about marriage.  “When they are older.  Like how when I’m older I’m going to marry Juan Francisco,” she continued.   “Right now I think that Owen and Graham are friends and that they probably don’t love eachother the same way that Uncle Mark and Uncle Greg love eachother, but later on, I guess that is possible. Owen can marry whom ever he chooses,” I said.

“Mommy?” she asked, “What day is today? Is it almost summer vacation?”And with that she went into a boisterous rendition of High School Musical 2’s What Time is It?.

And that was the end of that.

I never know how to handle these types of questions.  I worry that I answer them the wrong way; a way that will influence her opinion on such topics.  Which I don’t want to do.  I want her to always see her Uncles as just that, her Uncles, and not as different or as gay.

I’m glad that my daughter sees no difference between two men getting married and a man and a woman getting married.  (And while I don’t know for sure, I can only assume that she wouldn’t think it strange to hear of two women getting married as well.)  She just doesn’t know the difference. To her, it’s part of her family.  Having two uncles is a very normal part of her life.

I guess we can only hope that eventually a generation will grow up blind to the differences of sexuality and that the debate between who should and shouldn’t, who can and can’t, get married will be a thing of the past.

One can only hope.

Written by nicolemarie

November 6, 2007 at 8:51 am

Posted in crazy kids

Tagged with , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thank you for the presents! Kaye came by last night and the girls loved them. Georgia named the blue one Princess Presto and Lee was still deciding on a name. Yall did not have to do that and I appreciate yall thinking of us!

    Julie

    November 8, 2007 at 8:02 am


Leave a Reply

