Avoiding Crisis

scattered

with 7 comments

…are my thoughts.

because of THIS.  because just when I thought we had made a final decision about whether or not he would even entertain the idea of going there, it gets thrown back into our face.  And just when i had started breathing a little bit easier, knowing that there were 10 potential places we could be sent to next, none of them being a war zone, we have to start to consider one very unpopular possibility.

and so a lump has formed in the bottom of my stomach and it is slowly making it’s way up to my throat.  My heart is racing and it feels like there is someone stepping on my chest restricting my breathing. 

i can’t much think of anything else.  wondering if he might not have a choice after all, wondering how I’d manage if he left for a year, where I’d live, whether or not I’d work.   Thinking, but trying so hard not to, about the danger. 

yes, he can make a lot of money.  and yes, we’d be able to buy that house and car that we want and maybe even put away for the kids college and our retirement.  but none of that matters, none of the perks matter, if he doesn’t make it home.

according to news reports this issue will all be resolved by thanksgiving.  Let’s hope that we have something to be very thankful for this year.

Written by nicolemarie

October 27, 2007 at 3:27 pm

Posted in crazy adventures

Tagged with , ,

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I had just read the article from a different news source and was wondering if you would be affected. Hopefully they have enough volunteers…

    Will keep my toes and fingers crossed for your family..

    -SD

    SD

    October 27, 2007 at 4:24 pm

  2. We are always here to help if you need us!

    Julie

    October 27, 2007 at 8:21 pm

  3. I thought it was only going to be the “real’ diplomats???

    Billie

    October 28, 2007 at 11:27 am

  4. Hang in there Nicole!

    John was there. It was most definitely not fun to say “see ya” when he left but you get through it…and so will your husband IF he has to go. I’ll keep my fingers crossed as well that he dodges that particular assignment!! 🙂

    Shelley

    October 28, 2007 at 8:29 pm

  5. SD-not sure yet if it will affect us but we will find out soon enough. my husband got an email on Friday asking for 45 more volunteers, etc. so we think that the 50 the news articles are talking about are these 45 that his section is looking to fill.

    Julie-we love you guys! if A had to go away for a year without us we’d probably stay here in Buenos Aires.

    Billie-not sure what you mean by “real” diplomats since DS agents serving overseas ARE diplomats with all the immunities and everything just like FSOs. See the above answer to SD for why we think the article is talking about DS…but we could always be way off base.

    Shelley-you’re right it is a very big IF…I guess I use this blog as an outlet for my fears, etc.

    nicolemarie

    October 28, 2007 at 10:29 pm

  6. I know they are real diplomats…was just being sarcastic since not too many people think of them as diplomats when you hear diplomat. anyhoo…my husband also received a crapload of emails looking for volunteers. Crazy times in DS. I guess we’ll see if they get enough….as if we didn’t have enough on our plates already! 🙂

    Billie

    October 29, 2007 at 11:41 am

  7. As you should Nicole!! It’s a great place to get the support we all need in this crazy life too!!

    Shelley

    October 30, 2007 at 11:47 am


Leave a Reply

