Avoiding Crisis

6:55 AM

with 5 comments

I woke up, rolled over and semi climbed over my husband to get a good look at the clock. 

6:25AM. 

I gently shook my husband trying to wake him up, assuming he had overslept.  This was purely an assumption, mind you, since I’m usually not awake, and if I am awake, not coherent, when he gets out of bed. Therefore I really don’t have a clue as to what time he starts his day.  I do know though that by 7:30AM he’s out the door and I’m stumbling around trying to wake my sleepy-ass up and get the kids ready for school. 

That’s a normal day. 

Today wasn’t a normal day.

So apparently at 6:25AM my husband still has 5 more minutes of sleep.  Who knew?  He made sure that I was made fully aware of this fact in a sweet but what-the-f-is-wrong-with-you kinda way. 

I rolled over, while simultaneously rolling my eyes at his comment, and fell back to sleep.

Exciting shit this is, isn’t it?  I know you’re just dying to know what happened next.  And NO it has nothing to do with sex.

But before I go on….Let’s me take a teeny tiny step back.

Recently I’ve been thinking about trying to wake up earlier – as in earlier then the kids.  I’ve heard somewhere, or maybe I read it, I can’t remember, that if you were to wake up before your children and manage to pull yourself together before you have to “start” the day then things wouldn’t seem so frazzled and maybe you wouldn’t feel like you’re playing catch up all day long.   I was seriously considering trying this.  I hadn’t yet put the idea in motion, but still, thinking about it was a good start. Don’t you think? 

Okay, so back to this morning.  And NO it still has nothing to do with sex. 

Eventually my husband got out of bed.  I don’t know exactly when that happened but it had to be sometime between 6:25AM, the first time I looked at the clock, and 6:55AM, the next time I woke up and looked at the clock.

6:55 AM. 

“Five more minutes,” I thought to myself as I let out a very loud (to me) but completely silent “ahhhhhhh” and buried my face in the pillow.  

And although it seemed like an entire hour had gone by, it must have been only seconds when I was startled out of bed by the screams of a 2 year old and my husband yelling, “Nicole!!!!!! I’m in the bathroom.”  Which was his way of saying, I’m on the crapper so could you please go and see what in god’s name our crazy son has gotten himself into.

And as I jumped out of bed, in the corner of my eye I could see that the clock still said 6:55AM.

stumbled ran across the hall to my son’s room and there he was, in his doorway, screaming and holding his head; his bloody head.  HIS BLOODY HEAD! 

Seriously his entire head was bloody.  Not just blood dripping from one little area or even one side of his entire head. He was covered in a mixture of tears, snot and blood, all which he decided to mix together to create one big bloody mess on his face; all over his face.

I grabbed a towel and started wiping the blood, the tears, the snot, trying to find the source.   

We’re not sure what happened since I was still in bed and, as I mentioned, my husband was otherwise occupied.  We think he tripped and fell on the pointy part of a toy jet he seems to have taken a liking too recently. 

He cut himself on his right temple.  It left a small, but profound little gash. 

There was a lot of blood at first, that always seems to be the case when dealing with head injuries.  Though it wasn’t anything severe enough to warrant stitches.  He’ll have a scar.  He already has a lovely one right above his left eye.  I’m sure he’ll get others. They add character.   

I don’t know but I’m thinking that maybe today I should have implemented the “wake up before the kids” plan. 

Tomorrow. Maybe. 

Though after a day like today, I’m thinking I may need to sleep in.

Written by nicolemarie

September 24, 2007 at 8:41 pm

Posted in crazy kids

Tagged with , , ,

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. One lovely thing about waking before your kids when they are this age is going to their room and watching them sleep in the early morning light. It’s something you will remember a long time from now.
    By the way, if you go to the NY Times website tonight and read the front page article titled “Columbia Divided by Speech” you can read an excerpt of a speech by my daughter Cassie. I can still see her tiny head on the pillow.

    Barry

    September 24, 2007 at 9:20 pm

  2. Yes, she has a scar there too.

    Barry

    September 24, 2007 at 9:21 pm

  3. Thank goodness your son is okay. Oh, how precious those extra few minutes of sleep are in the morning.

    -SD

    SD

    September 24, 2007 at 11:07 pm

  4. Oh my God, that would have scared the crap out of me!

    I wake up before my children every day and I love it, even though it is only about 15 or 20 minutes before them.

    Dawn

    September 25, 2007 at 8:27 am

  5. I am glad he is okay!

    Julie

    September 25, 2007 at 3:53 pm


Leave a Reply

