Avoiding Crisis

senses

with 4 comments

I’m taking a creative writing course.  Last night I had my first class.

We discussed the idea of “writing from the senses.”  The instructor asked us to think about and answer two questions:

1) If you had to give up one, which sense would you be willing lose?

2) If you could have one sense heightened, which one would it be?

I said that I’d give up my ability to hear and that I’d want to heighten my sense of taste.

How about you? What sense would you give up?  What sense would you like to have heightened?

Written by nicolemarie

September 21, 2007 at 2:58 pm

Posted in questions, writing

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I would do the same. I would lose my ability to hear and I would heighten my sense of taste. I love food. Sometimes when the kids are crying yes I would love not to hear.

    Cleia Peterson

    September 23, 2007 at 12:27 pm

  2. 1)Probably smell – I feel this would be the least traumatic.
    2)Since taste is greatly affected by loss of smell – I would definitely need my taste buds heightened.

    -SD

    SD

    September 23, 2007 at 8:28 pm

  3. I’ve wanted to take a creative writing class. It sounds fun!

    Dawn

    September 24, 2007 at 7:49 am

  4. It’s a tough one. The sense of touch would mean no pain, but missing certain pleasurable sensations. I enjoy taste too much, and smell goes along with it. I think it would be a complete nightmare to go blind, so that leaves hearing. I’d miss music, of course, but I already know a bit of sign language so I’m off to a good start! Other than music, most things hearing accomplishes can be done by other means, more than with the other senses – eg, flashing lights instead of alarms, signing instead of speaking, subtitles in films.

    prospectus

    September 24, 2007 at 5:49 pm


Leave a Reply

