Avoiding Crisis

you know what they say about how when it rains…

with 2 comments

No, it’s not really raining around here.  It’s quite a lovely day actually.

I’m speaking figuratively.

Things have been rather quiet around here lately.  It’s been nice.  With few commitments bogging me down I’ve gotten though all the research necessary to make our bid list, I’ve kept up with my blogging, done some additional writing, and I’ve even found the time to start (but not yet finish) the two books I picked up last time I was in the United States. 

But at the same time,  I find that when I have fewer structured activities or commitments I tend to waste a lot of time. A LOT of time.   

I know that this may seem totally backward and all, but I find that when I have more to do, especially more structured activities, one’s with real commitments and deadlines, I find myself not only more productive, but more efficient and effective.  The more I do the better I seem to be at each thing I’m doing. 

I’ve been thinking how I really needed to kick my ass in gear and get myself on a more rigid schedule of sorts. 

Sometimes it’s better to not think, or talk, or ponder about such things unless you really do things to change.  ‘Cause, chances are, they will.

Let’s see.  This week I restarted Spanish class and I find myself preparing to sit for three exams between now and November. A few days ago we decided to kick the whole potty training thing up a notch to see what would happen and figured that while we’re already causing traumatic changes in my sons life, why not just take his pacifier away as well.  Next week things will get even busier when the writing class that I signed up for begins.  However, I will miss the first class since I’m heading to Mendoza for a few days.  But thanks for my trusty laptop and a WiFi connection I’ll still be able to log in to the e-course on Urban Planning I’ve signed up to take; it also starts next week.    

And on top of all that new stuff, I’ll still  be taking the kids to art and dance and playgroups.  There will still be plenty of never ending games of candy land and chutes and ladders to contend with.  And maybe if I can find the time I’ll squeeze in some exercising and maybe even some blogging too.

I don’t know.  Maybe a few extra things in my life won’t hurt, maybe I’ll even find myself getting more done.  Either that, or I may just be in for a few weeks of complete exhaustion.

Let the downpour begin.

Written by nicolemarie

September 7, 2007 at 3:14 pm

Posted in life, personal

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I totally agree! When I have more to do, I am way more productive. Let’s hope it stays true now that I am back to work!

    Michelle C.

    September 8, 2007 at 10:23 pm

  2. Heya… welcome back to the states.

    Was wondering if you ever took one of those online courses from Rutgers. Yes, I checked out your blog.

    Started myself, again, recently.

    notes.dlsplanning.com

    only one post so far… – subscribe to my feed though, you might find it interesting if you wanted to take planning classes @ Rutgers.

    Dave Schmetterer

    September 2, 2008 at 11:13 am


Leave a Reply

