Avoiding Crisis

some things you just gotta to share

with 4 comments

so a few months ago, one Saturday afternoon, while i took my daughter to a birthday party, my husband thought he’d see what would happen if he put my son in underwear as opposed to the very reliable and always trusty bob the builder pull-up that he normally sports. I just shook my head, told him to have a blast, and that I’d be back later. Seeing how I did 90% the potty training for my daughter, i just chuckled to myself, realizing that he had absolutely no idea what he was getting himself into. When I returned home later that day, Owen was fast asleep, with a diaper on, and my dear husband had come to grips with reality – that and 5 wet pairs of underwear that apparently my delightful son had gone through in the course of 15 minutes. We didn’t really bring up potty training again for a while.

Recently, however, Owen has shown a bit of interest in the whole potty process. That, and I think that we’re bordering on being pretty darn over the whole diaper changing thing. He wants nothing to do with the little potty we have, aside from put his foot in it, fall over and laugh. He’s gone straight for the big potty. He now pees in the potty before bath almost every night and from time to time, if we get him at the right moment, he’ll go during the day – but only if you ask him and only if he’s in the right mood. ‘Cause, jeeeez louise, if he doesn’t want to go, he sure let’s you know it with a big nooooooooooooooo and this kinda sorta talk-to-the-hand thing he’s got going on.

Poop is a whole different beast which usually involves him hiding behind something or creating a barricade of toys in front of himself and squatting down and shouting BYE while waving at you. And, if you even try to come near him or even begin to ask whether he’d like to use the potty, you are quickly cut off with a big NO and that talk-to-the-hand thing, which is always followed by a very loud BYE and wave, just in case you forgot that he wants to be alone.

I never push the issue. What’s the point, really. I don’t want to fight with him about it. I keep saying, when he’s ready….when I’m ready (’cause as anyone who’s potty trained a toddler knows, its a whole lot of work!) Maybe this summer.

Today. Today…I think we had a break through. Though I’m not going to get my hopes up or anything.

He woke up from his nap, or more accurately I woke him up from his nap, around 3:30. I know what you’re thinking: didn’t anyone ever tell me not to wake a sleeping baby. Well, for starters he’s not a baby anymore, secondly, if he takes long naps he doesn’t go to bed at night at a decent hour, and third, he had somewhere to be at 4:ooPM. Okay? We cool?

He was his typical, why-on-god’s-green-earth-would-you-possibly-wake-me-up-from- sleep, grumpy self. He began to snap out of his grumpiness but was still a bit, as we say in these parts, fastidiado. I didn’t think much of it, he can take a while to wake up (takes after his mother.) But then he began to do a dance of sorts, shifting his weight from one foot to the other, pulling at his pants. And then, in his pacifier-in-the-mouth garbled spanglish, he says (or at least I think he said) poopie on the potty. He repeats it a few times. So I say to him “you need to go peepee?” but he responds with his typical nooooooooooooooo! The song and dance continues.

Eventually (like 2 minutes later) I pick him up and carry him to the bathroom. And, as if he was trying to tell me the entire time, he points to the potty and says “poopie on the potty.” Poop, pee, it’s all the same to him.

You know the endless pee scene in the movie A League of Their Own. Well, I felt like I was living that scene. My lord, did that kid pee! Obviously he was bothered when he woke up he had been holding an awful lot of pee.

I was so proud of him. He told me that he had to go and he went.

I gave him a lollipop. And lots of kisses.

I think he got the whole I-did-something-good-so-I-got-a-reward-for-it concept. He held onto that lollipop for a good whole 5 minutes before putting into his mouth. He was very proud of himself.

He had playgroup/class immediately following this whole ordeal and we told his teacher all about it. She was so proud of him! She got down on his level and asked him if he went peepee in the potty (in Spanish) and he proudly shook his head yes and then she followed up by asking him whether he would tell her when/if he had to go and he very matter-of-factly shook his head no. We laughed. At least he’s honest.

It’s a good start, no?

I returned from taking him to his class and sat down at the computer ready to write all about my current issues with moving and all, but instead I couldn’t help but go through my digital pictures reminiscing and looking at how much Owen has changed and grown in such a short time.

They really do grow up so fast.

From a sweet little baby
Owen Matthew003
to a chunky monkey (OMG was he fat!)
IMG_6896.JPG
to a silly boy
IMG_7325.JPG
and a very beautiful boy
little boy001
to a big boy (okay, so he’s always been big, but still…)
IMG_4332
with an adventurous spirit
IMG_4609

He still is and always will be (diapers or not) my baby.

My, my…where does the time go?

Written by nicolemarie

August 29, 2007 at 9:56 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. What a great snapshot (no pun intended) of his growth. Congrats on the whole pee pee in the potty. Not looking forward to that stage, but I got time!

    Michelle C.

    August 29, 2007 at 10:54 pm

  2. Wow he’s handsome!
    This is a sweet post. Nice to hear about the mommy parts sometimes.

    I did not push potty-training with either child I encouraged but let them decide when they were ready and whatdoyaknow I’ve got no one in diapers. . .it happens. Eventually!

    Dawn

    August 30, 2007 at 8:12 am

  3. Go Owen! Go Owen!

    Holly

    August 30, 2007 at 9:47 am

  4. awww — i like that post!

    friendfromhome

    September 6, 2007 at 2:21 pm


Leave a Reply

