Avoiding Crisis

the one in which i answer 4 random questions

with 7 comments

Dawn posted these questions the other day and instead of answering them in the comments section of her blog like she wanted us to, I decided to share them with you.

Why? 1) I tried to answer them in the comments section but seeing how I tend to be long winded and can’t seem to answer any single question with a simple response they got a bit long, 2) i think they are meme worthy questions, not that I know what meme-worthy is, but it sounds good, doesn’t it?, and 3) I needed a good reason to introduce you all to two wonderful and amazing women, who also happen to be non-blogosphere friends of mine – Holly and Michelle – who recently decided to join us in the blogging world.

So, Holly and Michelle and anyone else who wants to play along…TAG your it. (Which, in blog-speak, means that you have to take these following questions and answer them on your own blog…!)

So…ladies and gents…let me introduce, the dawn meme a la If. . .(Questions for the Game of Life):

1. If you had to name the most terrifying moment of your life so far, what would it be?

This might seem a bit shocking to you, but to be compltely honest, I’d have to say the day my daughter was born. Or more accurately, the 5 hours leading up to the birth of my daughter.

This moment (or moments because after all, it didn’t happen in one split instance) is also one of the most incredible and amazing moments in my life so far.

How can that be?

All I know is that in those few hours before I held my daughter I had absolutely no control whatsoever over my body (which was really just weird), it was crazy painful (until they gave me an epidural), and I was about to become a mother, responsible for another life, and I had absolutely NO CLUE what to do and whether or not I was going to be a good mom and raise my daughter the right way or be an awful mother who was going to really mess things up. (wow that was a really long run-on sentence. oh well.)

All the emotions, hormones, pain and everything else that goes along with having a baby just made me completely terrified – and it’s not like I could have stopped the whole process and said, “hey wait a minute, i change my mind, I’m not so sure I’m ready to be a mom. Can’t I just go home and wait a little longer until I’m a bit more confident about this.?”

Terrifying, yes. I can be honest about that. But also, beautiful, incredible, amazing, and blissful.

2. If you could keep only one article of clothing you currently own and the rest were to be thrown out, what would you keep?

Hands down, my favorite pair of Lucky Jeans. ‘Cause god only knows when I’ll be able to find another pair of jeans that I like as much as these and we all know the problems I have with finding jeans.

3. If you had to eat in only one restaurant for the rest of your life, which one would you choose?

Millie’s kitchen, also know as my grandmother’s kitchen. Its specialty is Italian. Good wholesome home cooked Italian food. You know the kind of food that there are no recipes for, the type of food that you only know how to cook because you learned it by watching your mother who learned by watching hers.

I know, it’s not a resturant. But it should be. Oh yes it really should be. If I could jar her pasta sauces, freeze her pizza and eggplant parmigiana, can her chicken soup with mini meatballs and her lentil soup, and package up her pizza rustica and struffola, it I’d be filthy rich and you’d all be ridiculously fat.

Not only is the food ALWAYS amazing, AMAZING, but the service is to die for and the company is always really great too.

4. If you could physically strike one person from your past (that you didn’t), who would you hit, and where?

I had this boss once, wait, make that twice – yes, that’s right, two different bosses – that told me I wouldn’t amount to much and that I was a whining ungrateful child who didn’t have what it took to get anywhere. Oh how I wish I had reached over the desk (on both occasions) and just clocked them. Instead, I sat there and cried. Both times.

Written by nicolemarie

August 27, 2007 at 11:39 am

Posted in life, meme, questions

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. OMIGOD! You outed me as a blogger! I feel so exposed! 🙂

    Holly

    August 27, 2007 at 1:53 pm

  2. I second what Holly says! 🙂 And will get to the questions soon.

    mcicchitelli

    August 27, 2007 at 10:46 pm

  3. i couldn’t help myself…you both are writing some great stuff that I just had to expose you!

    nicolemarie

    August 27, 2007 at 11:16 pm

  4. […] encouragement and bloggish know-how, so when I opened her blog the other day and saw that she had tagged me (along with another of her friends, Michelle) with a list of four questions, I knew I had to play […]

  5. Okay wait. . .are you guys all using the same template?

    Dawn

    August 29, 2007 at 8:32 pm

  6. dawn, i think so…is that okay? did i do something i wasn’t supposed to do? uh…

    nicolemarie

    August 29, 2007 at 9:03 pm

  7. Haha. . .it’s ok by me.

    Dawn

    August 30, 2007 at 8:07 am


Leave a Reply

