Avoiding Crisis

where in the world…

with 12 comments

I’ve spent the better part of my morning playing “where in the world is…” 

It’s been quite a geography lesson. Like…where in the world is…

Dushanbe (that would be the capital of Tajikistan)
Nouakchott (the capital of the Islamic Republic of Mauritania. Uh? Of where?)
Chiang Mai (the largest city in northern Thailand. duh?)
Mbabane (that would be the capital of Swaziland.  How could I have missed that one.)
Bandar Seri Begawan (yeah…that would be the capital of the Sultanate of Brunei.)

Here’s a rule I’ve found to be generally true:  If you a) don’t know where the city is located and b) can’t even fathom how to pronounce the name of the city, it’s most likely not a place that you want to be spending three years of your life in.  Unless, that is, you’re talking about Ljubljana.  Which, a) I didn’t know where it was the first time I heard about it, and b) I cannot cannot pronounce it at all (even after i’ve heard it said correctly 10x) but yet I wouldn’t mind being shipped off to live there for 3 years.   

Now, for reasons other than, a) I didn’t know where any of these cities were located and b) I completely butcher their pronunciations, none of the aforementioned cities (aside from Ljubljana) will be showing up on our list.

And since, I know that you are all just dying to hear about all the places that will make it onto the list…I’ll give you a peak.

Here are a few (in no particular order of importance or desire) that probably will show up on our final list: Havana, Asuncion, Santo Domingo, Dar-Es-Salaam and Ljubljana

Now…tell me, where in the world would you want to go?

Written by nicolemarie

August 21, 2007 at 2:40 pm

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’d definitely love to give Havana a try.

    I’d love to spend some time in India – not the just the usual tourist traps like the Taj Mahal, I’d love to see different parts of the country and get to know it. Such a vast range of culture most westerners know nothing about.

    It’s a hard question. There aren’t many countries I wouldn’t like to spend a while in.

    prospectus

    August 21, 2007 at 3:53 pm

  2. This is so fun!

    Dawn

    August 21, 2007 at 4:38 pm

  3. Dawn…you didn’t answer the question. you can’t leave a comment and not answer the question…it’s no fun if you don’t play along! you can’t just have fun at my expense…it’s just not allowed! 🙂

    nicolemarie

    August 21, 2007 at 4:47 pm

  4. I´d say London, Melbourne, Dublin, San Francisco, Lima, Sicily, Athens… I guess I´m fairly mainstream after all haha

    Marce

    August 21, 2007 at 7:33 pm

  5. So are we supposed to pick what’s on your list?? 🙂 Ljubljana is definitely a great location and has awesome access to other parts of Europe. But the beaches in Havana might not be so bad, either :).

    On our list though…if I had my choice I’d pick Frankfurt, Zagreb, maybe Sarejevo, and I can’t remember what else because they were pretty much all dream locations (as in we won’t go there). But hey, so is Zagreb and Frankfurt but I just love, love, love those cities!

    Billie

    August 21, 2007 at 7:50 pm

  6. Havana might be fascinating, as might life in Cuba. But Dar-Es-Salaam, ooh, the very name conjures up a place seething with exotic possibility. What tough choices! Vancouver sounds very pedestrian by contrast. This sounds like an adult version of ‘spin-the-globe’, a game i loved to play as a young girl. 🙂 G

    suburbanlife

    August 22, 2007 at 3:38 am

  7. Oh! I’d go with Santo Domingo or Ljubljana.

    Dawn

    August 22, 2007 at 12:29 pm

  8. Hello!!
    I don’t know why you didn’t pick Chiang Mai. We have been there. It is the best of southeast Asia. They have everything. Everyone speak English. It is not too far from the Burma, China border. You can go on tours in those places. They have the night market. You can’t get tired of shopping. Even at 2 in the morning. We had a couple massage it was the best experience ever. I would love to go back. I have a friend at the embassy there right now. She can tell you what she thinks about it. If I had a second choice I would go with Asuncion. Brandon was there for a TDY. He loved it. We have been trying to get it for a long time. It is peaceful the crime rate is low. Take your pick.

    Cleia Peterson

    August 22, 2007 at 12:56 pm

  9. if you go to havana, i can’t visit you right?

    Michele

    August 22, 2007 at 5:13 pm

  10. Cleia – yeah, Chiang Mai looks interesting and if it didn’t require Arran to go to language training for a year then maybe we would include it but we really don’t want to go back to DC for a year.

    Michele- maybe. not sure, really. but your cuz-in-law isn’t digging the whole Cuba thing right now so i doubt it will make our list.

    All – thanks for the comments. love them. you didn’t need to pick places that I wrote about…i was kinda wondering where, if you had the entire world as your option, you’d go…or something like that.

    nicolemarie

    August 23, 2007 at 10:46 am

  11. I am not sure where I would like to go. I still want to be somewhere in Europe. Paris would be my first choice. Maybe when we have more money. We will bid for it.

    cleia Peterson

    August 23, 2007 at 12:47 pm

  12. I can understand that cleia. It’s strange. I’m from Europe and I’m not particularly nationalistic or euro-centric minded, but a lot of the countries I would like to live in happen to be in Europe.

    Say what you like about Europe, it’s a dramatic continent. I think of some of mankind’s greatest achievements which happened here and feel a flush of pride…and then I remember some of mankind’s darkest moments that took place here too, and think I should keep my mouth shut!

    prospectus

    August 26, 2007 at 2:09 pm


Leave a Reply

