Avoiding Crisis

the list

with 10 comments

So, apparently the list was supposed to come out today.  It might have, or it might not have.  I don’t know.

Today is an Argentine national holiday – the death of San Martin – which means that the Embassy is closed and therefore my husband was not at work, not sitting in front of his computer, not receiving work email and therefore not around to know whether or not the list actually did come out.  I tried to convince him to drive to work on his day off (it’s not that far, but it’s not a fun drive, especially if there is any hint of traffic) but that didn’t work.  So instead, I’ve made him promise me that he must call me first thing in the morning to tell me if indeed the list did come out.

I’m not sure what good that will do me, knowing that this was or wasn’t released, since I’ll still have to wait until he gets home to see the damn thing. ‘Cause as much as I really want to get my hands on that list and get to work whittling it down and researching all the places that we could potentially be sent – like Tanzania, Cuba, Norway, Paraguay, Ireland, Vancouver – I really really don’t want to drive downtown.

So, if the list did come out, I’ll just spend all of tomorrow anxiously waiting for my husband to walk through the door so I can rip his briefcase from his shoulder and get my grubby little hands on that list.  And if it wasn’t sent out, I’ll just be really annoyed that we don’t have it and say really bad things about government bureaucracy.

And, if you’re reading this wondering what the hell “the list” is, and find your self completely lost as to what I’m talking about, read this and I’m sure it will make a whole lot more sense.

Until tomorrow.  And don’t worry, I’ll let you know.

 Edited to add:  YES the list did in fact come out.  Excuse me while I go and obssess over it for a while.   🙂

Written by nicolemarie

August 20, 2007 at 9:26 pm

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The list DID come out today. Now you don’t have to wonder!! 🙂

    Kelly

    August 20, 2007 at 9:38 pm

  2. thanks kel…just what i needed to know before I went to bed…great…now i have an entire day of waiting until A get’s home to look forward to….:-)

    nicolemarie

    August 20, 2007 at 9:51 pm

  3. Yup, list is out. Now we have some super huge decisions to make. It’s pretty much we either try and get to Angola or we just pick DC. My hubby’s good friend from the Army is at Angola now so we stand an OK chance of actually getting posted there. Question is: do we really want it??? If only we could get a REALLY good posting. So much to think about!! Especially since I am pregnant now 🙂 Good luck with the posts…hopefully you guys have some great ones to bid on!

    Billie

    August 21, 2007 at 12:58 am

  4. Vancouver is one of your potentials to consider? i am sure it’s a fairly complex thing to select the posting that helps advance your husband’s career and do hope your family gets the posting you desire. I’m waiting to hear… 🙂 G

    suburbanlife

    August 21, 2007 at 1:55 am

  5. I wanna see! I wanna see!

    Holly

    August 21, 2007 at 10:34 am

  6. By the way, I like the new header picture (although the old one was gorgeous too). Is that Rocket I see?

    Holly

    August 21, 2007 at 10:37 am

  7. Holly…why yes that is Rocket!

    nicolemarie

    August 21, 2007 at 11:03 am

  8. Cuba?…we only have an interests section there. That doesn’t sound too hot.

    Barry

    August 21, 2007 at 2:22 pm

  9. Barry, Cuba provides for some interesting opportunities and we’ve heard good things about the community there. Plus, it’s a 2 year assignment and a spanish speaking post, both of which appeal to us at this point.

    nicolemarie

    August 21, 2007 at 3:55 pm

  10. If you end up with Ireland, let me know and I’ll buy you both a drink!

    prospectus

    August 21, 2007 at 5:54 pm


Leave a Reply

