Avoiding Crisis

connections

with 3 comments

the mind is an incredible thing. how a smell or an image can conjure up thoughts from long ago. how one idea leads to another and then another, all which may or may not be somewhat related. how thoughts wonder it directions that at one moment make complete sense and another are totally unexplainable.

the other morning while i was getting ready to take the kids to school i went into the bathroom in search of a hairbrush. I picked up this light purple brush that I often use. After one stroke through my hair the handle broke off. Too lazy to look for another one, I continued using the brush, holding the bristle part in the palm of my hand.

It wasn’t a big deal that the brush broke. I really didn’t care. I have others.

What is so interesting to me about this incident is what it led to. Where my mind went as a result of the broken brush.

See, when the brush broke, as i said, i continued to use it anyway. And as I’m sitting there brushing my hair with a broken brush I start to think about this old natural bristle brush with a brown resin handle that my father had for many years (and he may still have for all i know).

There was nothing particularly interesting about this brush. The only thing was that I had never known this brush to have a handle.

Thinking about my father’s handleless hair brush then made me think about the hideous comb-over that he used to tend to with this particular hairbrush. Which then led me to recall the day the hair dresser cut off the comb over.

We had gone with my mother to Yonkers so that she could have her hair cut, colored and styled by the same guy she had used for years – I can’t remember his name, but i think it was Gino or something like that. Anyhow, i remember that while we were waiting for my mom (and probably after we went to Nathan’s to get hot dogs for lunch) my father decided (or was convinced, i can’t remember which one it was) to finally accept the fact that he was bald. The comb-over was finished.

And then from that I jumped to this one summer when I was away at summer camp in Western Connecticut and it was parent visiting day and my father showed up having grown a full beard. The beard, unlike his jet black hair, had gray patches running throughout.

He’s had a beard every since. There are more gray patched now.

And then I thought about how it was on that very same day when my brothers and I learned that my father had experienced a minor heart attack several weeks earlier but that everything was going to be okay.

And that made me think of the time my parents snuck out of our house early one morning before we left for high school and that while i thought they had gone to work they had really gone to the hospital because my father thought he was having a heart attack. And how later that day, after they knew that everything was okay and that it was just some sort of virus, my mother randomly showed up at my school and got me out of chemistry class to tell me where they had been and what was really going on. And I remember being really angry at that situation. And how I went to see my father in the hospital and how I couldn’t even stand to look at him because I was so angry with him (though I don’t know why I was angry, but I’m pretty sure that anger was a normal emotion for a 15 year old to feel when they see a parent lying in a hospital bed hooked up to monitors.)

And then this took me to thinking about my father’s health and his more recent heart issues and my grandfather’s recent bypass surgery…and so on.

And that all flew through my mind in a matter of seconds, like a flash of lighting. And then it was gone.

And it all started because of a broken hair brush.

Written by nicolemarie

August 18, 2007 at 11:08 pm

Posted in Dad, life, personal

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. you are absolutely right that the mind makes some marvellous leaps, and the progression of one idea calls up unexpected memories, and so forth. This is a marvellous, honest post Nicolemarie. I like the way you write, it feels as if you’re sitting across from me at the table, sharing what’s on your mind. G

    suburbanlife

    August 19, 2007 at 2:41 am

  2. His name was Giovanni

    mikef

    August 19, 2007 at 11:54 am

  3. gino…giovanni…whatever…i got the G right.

    nicolemarie

    August 19, 2007 at 11:57 am


Leave a Reply

