Avoiding Crisis

the really awesome surprise party that wasn’t a surprise. AND reason #458 for why I have the most incredible husband in the entire universe

with 6 comments

Two weeks ago while out to dinner my husband told me about the surprise party that he was planning for me. Well, he actually went as far as to ask me to help him with some aspects of the surprise party. This was the event that prompted me to write this.

I take it all back. All the bad thoughts I had about how my birthday was ruined because once again I had to be involved in my own birthday party planning and all the crap I said about how once again everything will be a big disappointment.

Let me tell you about this past Saturday night. On Saturday my husband threw me a surprise birthday party. And that party didn’t live up to my expectations, didn’t even come close. It went way beyond my expectations, so so very far beyond them. It was an incredible evening that I will always remember.

And now I know just how lucky I am. And I know that I do really have the greatest husband. Seriously, he is amazing. Simply AMAZING.

In the end, really, I didn’t have anything to do with the party planning process. No, not a thing. This was partly because I refused to and partly because there was no need for me to. My husband could have done the whole thing without telling me. It maybe could have been a surprise. Though, in the end, it probably wouldn’t have been a surprise seeing how it was at our home and that would have been very hard to pull off. It’s very very hard to surprise me.

My dear husband let the cat out of the bag because he wanted to make sure that the party would be perfect and he wasn’t sure that he could make it perfect without me. I’m sure he could have. I know he could have. He did. But he was momentarily taken over by a severe case of insecurity and thought that he couldn’t pull it off without my help. Which in hindsight I find rather sweet. I mean, we are partners after all.

I’m not going to lie and tell you that I wasn’t upset about his request for my help with my own birthday party. I was upset. Very upset. I even called my mother and proceeded to cry because I was so darn upset and disappointed about the whole thing. I ranted to a good friend about it as we made our way through a farm exhibition (think cows, pigs, sheep, roosters, bunnies and whole slew of really really big tractors) with the kids, and even to my mother-in-law. They all listened and, since they read this blog, understood why I felt the way I did. You understand, don’t you?

Then, I felt bad for feeling that way. I felt selfish and self absorbed. I wanted to cancel the whole party thing and just forget that anything was even being planned in the first place. And then in the next moment (or maybe it was in the same moment. I was very confused at the time.) I wanted to know exactly what was going on and had this strong urge to take control of the entire party. It took a lot of self control to leave it all up to my husband and just let it play out. I’m really glad that I did.

So, while it wasn’t a surprise, it was still absolutely perfect. And who needs a surprise anyhow?

Here are a few photos to give you a glimpse into what it is that my dear wonderful perfect husband was able to pull off…

our house (at least the downstairs portion) was turned into a lounge.

IMG_5331

IMG_5329

IMG_5330

There was food, lots of glorious food! Thin crust gourmet pizzas that were cooked outside  on the parilla. A table filled with plates (tablas) of cheeses, meats, olives and nuts. Incredible rich delicious deserts, including homemade cupcakes that I more than happily helped out with.

IMG_5300

AND to top it off…my twin brother flew in from Denver to celebrate, which was also supposed to be a surprise but that too I knew about before hand.  We got to blow out birthday candles together, which is something we haven’t done in many many years.

IMG_5358

DSCF0881

Yeah, I think I’m going to like this whole being 30 thing….

And in case you didn’t already know, let me tell you again.  I have the most awesome, greatest, most wonderful husband any gal could possibly ask for.  And he’s kinda cute too!

(Thanks A. Love you.)

To all of you who sent birthday wishes my way – thanks!  you guys rock!

so I guess now I start the next stage of this blogging adventure…much more to come. I promise.


Written by nicolemarie

August 13, 2007 at 2:14 pm

Posted in birthdays, husband, life, thirty

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Well that’s awesome Nicole! I’m glad you had such a good time. You look great!
    I look forward to hearing about the next chapter.

    Dawn

    August 13, 2007 at 2:32 pm

  2. Sorry that I couldn’t make it but I’m soo happy you had a great time. Arran is the best!

    Michele

    August 13, 2007 at 2:47 pm

  3. Glad the party worked out so well! Here’s to plenty more success for the rest of your time being 30.

    prospectus

    August 13, 2007 at 5:24 pm

  4. The party looked awesome…beautiful lights and you and Mark looked great! Arran is great and I am glad you had such a wonderful time. Are you going to share more pictures?

    Julie

    August 13, 2007 at 5:54 pm

  5. I got give credit to your hubby. He did a great job. I am so happy you had a great birthday. It made me think how important family is for us. May God bless you and your brother with many years to come. We are excited to read more of your adventure. We are still in US with my hubby recovering from surgery. We hope to leave soon.

    Cleia Peterson

    August 15, 2007 at 2:01 am

  6. I’m so glad I read this! After months of planning my boyfriends 30th, I had to tell him a week and a half before and I felt like I ruined his entire life! I wailed and cried and it was pretty emotional on so many different levels. He knows he is having a party and when, but nothing else. I hope he feels like you did.

    samantha

    June 21, 2016 at 5:47 pm


Leave a Reply

