Avoiding Crisis

replacement

with 8 comments

It’s now official, we’ve been replaced.

Our replacement will not arrive for another year, but still.  Replaced.  I don’t know our replacement or even if he or she has a family accompanying him or her but already I know that I wouldn’t like them even if I did happen to meet them (which is not likely since we’ll probably be kicked out of here in time for them to arrive).  They may be the nicest people on the face of the earth, but still, they’re replacing us.  They’re the reason I have to move away from here.  I have to leave so that they can come here.  Lucky bastards.

An early morning call to my husband revealed that he had 400+ unread email messages to deal with (that totally sucks for him) and that, oh, by the way, his position had officially been filled (or paneled as he likes to say, but I’m not going to bore you with the whole process and what exactly it means to be paneled. Well, actually, I will bore you with that, but not right now…maybe next month.)

Two years and two days ago we arrived in Argentina. I always knew that our assignment was only 3 years. Part of me had secretly (and not so secretly) let it be known that if it was possible I’d extend for a fourth year.  But that nasty little war in the Middle East and the State department staffing issues that go hand in hand put the kibosh on even the slightest thought of an extension.  I accepted that.  I didn’t like it, but I accepted it.   I knew that we were going to have to leave eventually.  That I wouldn’t be able to stay here forever. That we would eventually be replaced by another State department employee and we would move on to our next assignment.

So while some new agent gets ready to go to language training and gets to look forward to moving to and living in Buenos Aires for 2 or 3 years, we get to face the reality that, in fact, in one years time we will be packing up and moving out.  But unlike the lucky guy or gal who will be replacing us, we don’t yet know where we’ll be going next and we won’t know until sometime early next year.

And while we’re on the topic of next assignments….the whole bureaucratic mess process of finding out where we will go next will begin in a few weeks.  And what a process it is. I’m sure that the trials and tribulations of bidding, as we like to call it, will make it into this blog on many more then one or two or even three occasions. It should be fun! oh god please no somebody shoot me now and put me out of my misery…

Excuse me while I go cry into my pillow and drown my sorrows with chocolate.  Oh shit.  We really are going to have to leave here.  Waa Waa Waa.  I’m such a cry baby.

Living overseas and moving like we do is a lot like living life on a roller-coaster.  One with a few twists and turns in the beginning a very soft and smooth middle followed by a long steep climb to a huge drop.  I’ve just made it to the top of that climb.  We’re on our way down.  My stomach can feel it.

Hold on. It’s going to be an interesting ride.

******************

oh yeah…and in case you lost count….10 days to my birthday.  Got me a present yet?

Written by nicolemarie

July 30, 2007 at 10:30 pm

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. ouch, i can´t even imagine what it would be like to have to leave a place after you have adapted to it and feel like staying. All I can say is that I hope that the new place is somewhere great like Italy, Greece or Australia, and that the bureaucracy of it all isn´t too bad.
    You still have a whole year left though, so carpe diem!

    Marce

    July 31, 2007 at 1:16 am

  2. Who knows, you might end up going somewhere even better!

    prospectus

    July 31, 2007 at 4:47 am

  3. I cannot wait to hear all about the process and where yall will end up this time.

    Julie

    July 31, 2007 at 8:01 am

  4. I’m looking forward to hearing all about the process.

    Dawn

    July 31, 2007 at 2:51 pm

  5. Make sure you don’t end up in Southeast Asia. Specially, Rangoon Burma. It is one of the worst places I have been to. Good Luck. I am going to San Jose, Costa Rica. That’s what you get after you have been to a crap post.

    Cleia Peterson

    July 31, 2007 at 5:16 pm

  6. The not knowing thing would bother the hell out of me (note – I’m a control freak)…here’s to hoping you end up with a great assignment!

    steph

    August 1, 2007 at 10:06 am

  7. Oh, that stinks – to come to love a place so much (as is evident from your writing) only to be taken away from it. I feel for you. I do look forward to hearing about the upcoming process, though – it sounds interesting!

    everythinginbetween

    August 1, 2007 at 4:49 pm

  8. working on a post about the whole process thing…should be ready in a day or so…keep your eyes at for it…it will be interesting, to say the least. Just remember, you all asked for it!

    nicolemarie

    August 4, 2007 at 10:19 pm


Leave a Reply

