Avoiding Crisis

debate the debate

with 3 comments

Did anyone watch the CNN/YouTube Debate last night? 

I was going to blog about it, as I had the last debate, but I just can’t seem to put any coherent thoughts together about it.  I can’t figure it out. I can’t seem to wrap my brain around the whole format.  I can’t decide whether or not I liked it.  But I’m thinking I didn’t.  I kept finding myself cringing with embarrassment at the questions that were being asked and the way in which they were asked.    

I don’t tend to like debates in any form, yet still, I find myself watching them.  Maybe if only to remind myself of how much I dislike them.  But last night’s debate was different and I can’t seem to decide whether or not I like different.  I should have liked it, right? It was supposed to engage the post baby-boom generations in politics, supposed to get our attention and make us feel like we matter, right?  It didn’t do that for me.  It just made me think about all the really interesting people that are out there spending way too much time trying to come up with crazy ways to ask politicians questions and get on television.  And who decided what questions/videos were going to make it into the debate?  What were the criteria? 

Call me old fashion, but I think maybe the political process may have been better served if we left the questioning to the journalists and political scientists.  Old fashion or maybe just an intellectual snob?

Any thoughts?  

Written by nicolemarie

July 24, 2007 at 10:36 am

Posted in politics

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I was actually on our local focus news for about 10 seconds talking about how I liked the format. I thought people asked questions in a more direct, and interesting way then a journalist might have been able to. I really like it, felt more like a town hall meeting with real people. My biggest problem with these debates is that they are not detailed enough and have too many candidates. They should focus each debate on one topic and limit it to a rotating 3-5 candidates.

    Mark F

    July 24, 2007 at 12:26 pm

  2. Hmm. . .I didn’t watch it. But no, I don’t think that the questions should be left to the journalists and political scientists. Definitely no. I like the idea of regular people asking what they want to know.

    Dawn

    July 25, 2007 at 8:34 am

  3. I didn’t find the questions that were asked to be all that probing…but then again, those questions had to have been vetted and I still wonder who decided what questions were going to be chosen for the show.

    Also, maybe it wasn’t that the questions weren’t probing; maybe it was just that I didn’t find that any of the candidates really had anything substantial say and that there was really no substance to whole debate. And as Mark points out, it could just be the result of too many candidates, too many topics and just too little time.

    nicolemarie

    July 25, 2007 at 9:11 am


Leave a Reply

