Avoiding Crisis

lies, lies and more lies

with 2 comments

Remember the post about my party dress?  And about how it was for my birthday?  I lied. 

Remember when I told you that I’d be getting my new laptop in a few weeks?  And that my mother-in-law was brining it down with her when she comes to visit in August?  Yeah.  I lied about that too. 

The dress is really for a party that I’m attending this evening.  I’ll probably use it again for my birthday, so I wasn’t completely lying.  But I didn’t buy it for my birthday.  And the laptop, the beautiful, sweet, perfect laptop?  Well I’m using it right now.  I’m using it while sitting at the dining room table that is located in a four bedroom suite at the Wardman Park Marriott in Washington, DC.  A room, we’ve been told, that Eishenhower once occupied and used as his own residence upon returning from the war.  Pretty neat, no?  

I’m sorry for lying to you.  I didn’t like doing it.  I wanted to tell you the truth. Really, I did.  I wanted to tell you all about how just a few weeks ago we found out that we would be traveling to the United States to surprise my father and attend a celebration for his upcoming retirement.  I wanted to tell you that we were going to be staying with my parents at the Wardman Park , which just happens to be one of my favorite hotels in the area, and that we would get to see my brothers, both my brothers, and their significant others.  That the whole family would be together, all of us, under one roof, to honor my father and the work he’s done for millions of kids.  I wanted to tell you all about this when it was all working itself out, but I couldn’t.  So I lied. 

But it was for a good cause.  And it was SO worth it.  So worth the reaction from my father when he saw my daughter walk into a meeting that he was in.  So worth the speechlessness, the tears, the emotions that came with our arrival.  So worth every single moment that my parents get to spend with their grandkids and their uncles and aunt. 

And while I’d love to go on and on about all the fun we are having and just how wonderful it is to be here with my family, I’m not.  Instead I’m going to go have a whole lot of fun and enjoy every possible minute I can with my parents (who, by the way, are celebrating their 38th weddding anniversary today) and the rest of my family and I’m not going to write about it.  Well, at least not right now. 

I’m taking a few days off.  I’ll be back Sunday or Monday to fill you in on all the wonderful and exciting things that are going on around here. 

Written by nicolemarie

July 19, 2007 at 12:54 pm

Posted in life

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oh so very cool! I forgive you for lying! Have a wonderful time.

    Dawn

    July 20, 2007 at 8:11 am

  2. Wow, I was in the lobby of the Wardman on Friday. What a great daughter you are and what a fine family you come from.

    Barry

    July 22, 2007 at 10:08 pm


Leave a Reply

