Avoiding Crisis

do you like my party dress?

with 4 comments

Not that I’m having a big birthday party or anything. No, nothing like that. I’m just going away for a few days with my husband to a beautiful and very relaxing resort. But, every girl needs a new dress for her birthday. Right? Especially her 30th birthday? And I will need something to wear out to dinner while we are away. Right? And it’s not like I should even need an excuse to go out and buy myself a new dress and new shoes. And even if I did, I think that it being my 30th birthday in a few weeks is excuse enough. Don’t you agree?

Things around here have been really busy lately and my husband and I haven’t spent a whole lot of quality time together. We decided that it was about time to make some time just for the two of us. So yesterday we had a babysitter come for the afternoon while we went downtown.

We went to an area of Buenos Aires called Palermo Viejo. And while I can go on and on about Palermo Viejo and how much I just love hanging out in this part of the city I won’t. There is already a lot of great information out there about this particular area and with my limited experience I’m sure I wouldn’t even begin to do it justice. If you’re interested in learning a bit more about this area go take a look around the blog Trendy Palermo Viejo.

Okay…so where was I? Shopping….

We didn’t really go shopping for anything specific per se. I didn’t set out to find a dress for my birthday dinner. I had wanted to find something special to wear, but I wasn’t on a particular mission. But when we passed this one particular shop with all it’s funky dresses in the window I just had to go in.

To be completely honest, I don’t particularly like shopping in Buenos Aires. Clothes here are made rather small. Aside from a few particular stores that I have become quite fond of, unless I’m in a masochistic mood or feeling particularly anorexic, I tend to shy away from Argentine clothing labels. And in case you think I’m over exaggerating and just being hyper critical of my own body, check out this article here and this one too and you’ll see what I’m talking about.

But I was in an adventurous mood yesterday, and not feeling overly fat, so I decided to take a chance and see what they may have in my size. So as I mentioned, we went into this little shop full of party dresses. Cute adorable unique fun party dresses. And I found this dress. And it fit me. And I bought it. Do you like it?

And then a few blocks later I found these shoes. Ooooohhh. The shoes! They’re awesome. They’re so very purty and look perfect with the dress. But you’ll just have to take my word for it since you’re going to have to wait a few more weeks before you can see me in the dress (in a photo of course.) Which my loving and wonderful, not to mention very very honest, husband assures me makes me look beautiful.

And now I have to go out and find a little sweater to wear with the dress seeing how it is winter here and I probably will be cold without one. So the outfit is not quite complete. But I have three more weeks and lots of sales to find the perfect sweater. I think I’m up for the challenge.

On a somewhat related, but different front, I did learn a very important lesson yesterday. When dining in a restaurant for a late lunch it’s probably best if you order one of the day’s specials. And if you don’t order the special, and the waiter looks at you like you’re completely insane for not ordering an appetizer, take it from me, order an appetizer. Even if you really really don’t want the appetizer order it anyway. ‘Cause you are going to want it. If you don’t order the special and/or an appetizer and order some delectable treat off the regular menu that will have to be prepared especially for you (which may include killing a cow and cutting it up) you’ll end up having to wait over an hour for your meal and by the time that you’ve gotten your meal you’ve already finished off a bottle of wonderful malbec wine and can’t even remember what it is that you ordered in the first place. Oh, and then you fall asleep on the way home cause you now have consumed too much food and way too much alcohol and it’s not even 5pm. Just order the special. You’ll thank me for it later.

Written by nicolemarie

July 15, 2007 at 3:53 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oh Nicolemarie – that dress is young and flirty and fun, but also sophisticated and sexy. No one will guess that you are a young matron with two children! 🙂
    As to the shoes, they are perfect for an intimate and steamy tango with your husband on a dance date, they actually look a bit like flamenco shoes, except the heel is narrower.
    Sound to me like you enjoyed your malbec and the nap on the way home! G

    suburbanlife

    July 15, 2007 at 5:34 pm

  2. Agreed – very cute dress and shoes!

    Dawn

    July 15, 2007 at 7:00 pm

  3. Fabulous dress. Treat yourself. Happy 30th birthday!

    I hope you’ll have a great time with your husband. =)

    PRETTY IN THE CITY

    July 16, 2007 at 6:03 am

  4. love the dress and reeaalllly love the shoes. I can’t wait to see pictures. Sounds like a wonderful day!

    everythinginbetween

    July 16, 2007 at 2:51 pm


Leave a Reply

