Avoiding Crisis

Expat Meme

with 5 comments

I just happened upon this meme over at Charlotte’s Web and thought it fun to do.  I’m not sure if I’m even considered an expat since I’m really a diplomat.  Not sure if it matters either.  And I’m not sure if one can be a diplomat and an expat.  To be honest, I really hadn’t given much thought to the whole diplomat/expat thing until today when I came across this posting and noticed that I didn’t fit in to any of the categories.  Maybe that’s cause I’m just not an expat…hmmm.   

Anyhow…on to the Expat Meme.  (Even if I’m not an expat, I’m doing it anyway!)

Here are the first things that came to mind…

Name five things you love in your new country

  1. malbec wine
  2. argentine beef
  3. leather goods
  4. my friends
  5. my house

Name four things you miss from your native country

  1. my family
  2. my friends
  3. my security
  4. resturants that are open before 8pm

Name three things that annoy you in your new country

  1. people smoking in shopping malls
  2. drivers who can’t seem to drive in their lane, or any lane for that matter
  3. the fact that resturants don’t open until 8pm

Name two things that surprise you (or surprised you when you arrived) in your new country

  1. how much I looked like everyone else here
  2. how easy it is to talk to people and make friends

Name one thing you would miss in your new country if you had to leave

  1. speaking spanish, the argentine way.
Written by nicolemarie

July 10, 2007 at 9:21 pm

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nice. I’m gonna do this meme. Thanks for reading my blog and feel free to add to the list. It’s by no means complete. 🙂

    Nathan

    July 11, 2007 at 11:05 am

  2. I don’t like cigaratte smoke either =)

    PRETTY IN THE CITY

    July 11, 2007 at 11:53 am

  3. […] I found this meme on Avoiding Crisis: 210 Days of Self-Exploration. […]

    Expat Meme « exnat

    July 17, 2007 at 1:10 am

  4. 2 гоша: ну сорри)

    здесь видел ет gamebulletin.ru

    Pybeamngymn

    May 25, 2009 at 1:05 am

  5. […] I found this meme on Avoiding Crisis: 210 Days of Self-Exploration. […]

    Expat Meme

    November 13, 2012 at 12:17 am


Leave a Reply

