Avoiding Crisis

the one in which i tell you all about my 25th year of life

with 2 comments

I have this friend who is really big into having 5-year plans. To me that seems a bit short of a time frame, but it seems to work well for him. Me on the other hand, I don’t really do life-plans. Not for 5 years, not for 10. I’m just not big into the idea of having such a structured plan for life. Maybe I should…but that’s a discussion for another day.

But I’m thinking, if a 5-year period of time can be used to create a life-plan then I’d say it’s long enough to look back on and review.

So I came across this post the other day and I found it interesting – interesting with regards to what the writer shared as well as interesting with regards to the whole “when I was 25” aspect. It made me think about what I was doing at 25.

While 25 wasn’t that long ago, only 4 years and 320 days ago to be exact, I found that I had quite a hard remembering a whole lot from that year. And then it hit me. Like a ton of bricks. I was 25 in 2002. 2002! Ah. A whole heck of a lot of life changing stuff happened in that year.

Without a doubt, my 25th year of life has been, thus far, the single most defining year of my life. If I look back on things and try to pinpoint the moments in time when I ventured down a very different path than I had ever expected I would, I can easily say that it was when I was 25.

Here’s what happened in my 25th year of life…

That summer we went to London. I had never been there, I always wanted to go. We went. It was a fun. We were spontaneous. It was the last spontaneous vacation I took. I was 4 months pregnant with my first child.

That fall we refinished our basement and got our house ready to rent. I was in my last full semester of graduate school. I resigned from my research assistant position.

That winter I gave birth to a baby girl. I became a mom. We started the countdown for moving overseas.

That spring, I finished and turned in my last assignment for graduate school completing all requirements for my Master’s Degree. We packed up our entire house and everything we owned. We rented our house. We moved in with my mother-in-law. We said goodbye to family and friends. We moved to Peru.

In one year I did what many would consider to be some of the most stressful things that you go through in life: I lived with in-laws, I relocated to another country, I had a baby and I left my job.

Yup, I’d say that was one busy year. No wonder why it all seems like a big blur to me.

But even with all the craziness that happened that year, I wouldn’t change it one bit. (Especially that part about living with my in-laws. hehehe) Somehow it all came together and worked out. It was, to say the least, a stressful year but also a very fulfilling and rewarding one.

So what’s been the most defining year of your life thus far?

Written by nicolemarie

June 25, 2007 at 9:11 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. …a completely transformative years I would say and probably enough good fresh material for a book.

    Barry

    June 25, 2007 at 9:19 pm

  2. Okay – that is A LOT to go through in one year…I will have to think about which year in my life was most defining.

    Interesting about the 5 year plan – I have a friend who has the same thing. I have “my list” which is just that – a list of things I’d like to do/see/accomplish but I don’t place any time limit on the items on the list.

    steph

    June 26, 2007 at 5:41 pm


Leave a Reply

