Avoiding Crisis

episode 71

with 6 comments

And now…back to more important things.

I was never a big fan of the HBO hit Sex and the City. Sure, if I was flipping through the channels and it was the only thing on at the time I’d watch it. But I never went out of my way to catch an episode and I never quite understood the big fuss about it.

A recent visit to the dermatologist made be think about one the very few episodes that I have seen: Season 5, Episode 71.

In this particular episode, Kim Catrell’s character Samantha Jones, the very confident very sexual publicist, readies herself for a party by going and getting a chemical peel. Her face post-peel is not quite what she had hoped and instead she is left to deal with a very very red face – described in the episode guide as an overripe tomato.

So yesterday I went in for the first of 4 combination treatments – which includes micro-dermabrasion and a chemical peel. The entire time I was at the doctor’s office I couldn’t stop thinking about this episode and wondering whether or not I was going to emerge looking like a overripe tomato. I tried to tell the doctor about the episode and my concern but her very monotone “ah, yes” and blank stare led me to conclude that she didn’t quite “get” it – she doesn’t really seem like the “Sex and the City” type.

When it was all done, I couldn’t help but immediately look in the mirror to see what the outcome was. No tomato face for me.

Though, about 4 hours later, it looked as though something with claws had run its paw along my cheeks as I had red streak-like marks on both sides. I was so concerned about the chemical peel (because of what had happened to Samantha) that I didn’t even think about what might result from the dermabrasion.

Well, at least I didn’t have anywhere to go or anyone to impress last night.

Written by nicolemarie

June 6, 2007 at 11:33 am

Posted in personal

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sounds painful. . .was it?

    Dawn

    June 6, 2007 at 3:44 pm

  2. actually not at all. i was a bit worried that it might, but it was kinda relaxing. the whole chemical peel part had a little string to it when it started but then when it came off it was refreshing.

    nicolemarie

    June 6, 2007 at 4:08 pm

  3. How Ironic! I’ve asked Sean to get me microdermabrasion for my 30th bday (12 more days to go)!!!

    Kelly

    June 6, 2007 at 8:41 pm

  4. I wouldn’t mind some microdermabrasion myself.

    Dawn

    June 7, 2007 at 8:05 am

  5. If I can ask – what exactly does this treatment do for your skin?

    steph

    June 7, 2007 at 3:57 pm

  6. steph – in the most simplest and crudest of terms, microdermabrasion is like having your skin “sandblasted” (but with very fine and gentle sand) to remove the dead outermost surface of the skin thus cleansing the pores and eliminating dead cells.

    I think it can be kinda expensive in the States but it’s very affordable (1/4 the cost) down here in Argentina…which is why it seems like everyone does it.

    Personally, I had some adult acne issues recently appear and it was suggested as a good non-pharmaceutical method for dealing with it.

    nicolemarie

    June 7, 2007 at 8:39 pm


Leave a Reply

