Avoiding Crisis

only 40 more to 100*

with 6 comments

Here are 60 things that come to mind when I think of my mother.

  1. she’s strong
  2. and beautiful
  3. and caring
  4. she’s smart
  5. and funny
  6. she’s honest
  7. brutally honest
  8. sometimes even too brutal with her honesty (but only towards her daughter)
  9. she’s opinionated
  10. and outspoken
  11. she likes to argue
  12. she’s rather good at arguing
  13. she wasn’t very good at college-level chemistry
  14. she was a high school health and physical education teacher
  15. she was a GREAT teacher
  16. year after year she taught a room full of inner city teenagers about sex
  17. she was also a high school principal
  18. she was an EXCELLENT principal
  19. she wasn’t afraid to bring her children to work and expose them to life outside our safe suburban enclave
  20. she once chased a student up 3 flights of stairs because he refused to take off his hat and give her his Walkman. She caught him and then suspended him.
  21. she’s retired
  22. she excels at being retired
  23. she’s a great cook, especially Italian food
  24. she loves a good all beef kosher hot dog
  25. she eats ice cream almost every night
  26. she can be bribed with chocolate, especially chocolate with almonds
  27. she coached girl’s high school volleyball and basketball
  28. she’s athletic
  29. she has no problems screaming at the television when her favorite team isn’t doing too well
  30. she’s passionate
  31. and loyal
  32. she’s ultra competitive
  33. she’s self confident
  34. she loves to golf
  35. she loves to shop, I mean, really loves to shop
  36. she’s an amazing friend
  37. and a doting grandmother
  38. she has no problems giving unsolicited advice
  39. she was my elementary school’s PTA president
  40. and a girl scout troop leader
  41. she’s not phased by meeting important and/or famous people
  42. she changed her last name back to her maiden name when she got fed up with being my father’s wife (they both worked for the same school district)
  43. she’s independent
  44. and bold
  45. she once wore a dress size smaller then me but never once told me that I needed to lose weight
  46. she told me that I looked like a beached whale when I was 9 months pregnant with my first child
  47. she constantly tells me what I should do with my hair
  48. she always tells me to put on earrings
  49. she drove me back and forth to school when I was kicked off campus and never once complained
  50. she’s my biggest fan
  51. my loudest cheerleader
  52. and my harshest critic
  53. she loves manicures and pedicures and facials and hot stone massages
  54. she loves comfy bath robes and warm fussy slippers
  55. she was born and raised in the Bronx
  56. now she lives in New Jersey and Florida
  57. she’ll always be a New Yorker
  58. she loves the NY Mets and the NY Giants and the NY Knicks
  59. she was 30 years old when she gave birth to my brother and I
  60. today is her birthday – HAPPY BIRTHDAY MOM!

*my husband’s first comment when I said that I was going to write a 60 things list about my mom on her 60th birthday. They have a very interesting – in a good way – relationship.

Written by nicolemarie

June 4, 2007 at 11:12 am

Posted in birthdays, family, list

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It is so nice to hear someone else showing her love to her mom. I adore my mom too.

    Cleia Peterson

    June 4, 2007 at 2:55 pm

  2. she is also an expert at finding the perfect size containter for leftovers

    Michele

    June 4, 2007 at 3:26 pm

  3. that’s a family trait, you know? did that skip your generation?

    nicolemarie

    June 4, 2007 at 3:38 pm

  4. we are the same generation.

    Michele

    June 4, 2007 at 6:14 pm

  5. and you’re point is? you didn’t answer the question….do you have “it” or not?

    nicolemarie

    June 4, 2007 at 6:15 pm

  6. i own it.

    Michele

    June 4, 2007 at 7:48 pm


Leave a Reply

