Avoiding Crisis

imposible*

with 3 comments

imposible,” he said shaking his head.

imposible,” he repeated.

Tears rolling down my left cheek.  The taste of the anesthetic drops gagging me.

Please, no more, this really hurts.  I begged in silence.

And then, finally, it stopped.
imposible.”

“Que?  Que es imposible?” I asked.

“No puedo pasar.”

Great, I think to myself.  This is just my luck.  The girl who was called nostrils all her life doesn’t have a nasal passage large enough for a teeny tiny fiber optic camera to pass through.  Just great.  So now what?

“y ahora?” I ask

“nada.”

And then, the non-English, Spanish speaking doctor who I had seen only a week earlier, who at the time claimed to have a very limited command of the English language, spoke in a heavily accented but very competent English.  And I breathed a sigh of relief knowing that I wasn’t going to have to struggle through this appointment.

Because even though I can have hour long conversations with other mothers about our kids and even talk at length about economics and politics in Spanish, when it comes to doctors and talking about something like health, my ability to put a coherent sentence together in a language other than English just isn’t possible.  It’s like the doctor had said, imposible.

*pronounced, im-po-see-blay

*******

For those of you who have been following this saga that I like to call the whole bloody mess, today’s appointment didn’t give me any new information as to what is causing my nose bleeds, aside from week veins and bad genetics, and didn’t get me any closer to a solution.  Though I did find out that this may not be one of those things that can be fixed and that instead it may just be something I’ll have to live with, as I have been doing for the past 20 years or so.

That’s it for now.  Nothing too exciting really.  Working on a few draft posts that I’m sure I’ll have up later this week…I promise they’ll be more interesting then this.  I hope.

until next time.

Written by nicolemarie

May 29, 2007 at 11:22 pm

Posted in health, personal

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. For some reason I thought I already commented on this post. But apparently I did not.

    So, why did he lie about his english speaking abilities?

    Dawn

    May 30, 2007 at 5:11 pm

  2. that just happened to me on one of your posts…wrote some stuff about your purple party and pressed submit and it was gone. oh well.

    don’t think he lied about his english speaking abilities, just underestimated himself. I do it all the time really. When a native spanish speaker asks if I speak spanish i often will respond by saying “a little.” At this point, while not fluent, I speak much more than a little. I think I do this for a number of reasons 1) compared to them I do only speak a little 2) I’m modest 3) I have little confidence in my language skills 4) i set myself up to be a sucess as opposed to a complete dissapointment in that when we do start speaking the person is always plesantly surprised and 5) it allows me to set the level of the conversation and to control the conversation a bit more (at least in terms of speed and structure)

    i assume, maybe wrongly, that one or more of those reasons may apply to this doctor as well.

    hey, i never really thought about this before – good question dawn.

    nicolemarie

    May 30, 2007 at 5:22 pm

  3. Bloody Hell, Nicolemarie. it is difficult to recieve an it-is-what-it-is prognosis. Can you go get a second and third opinion?
    I understand why you feel it is imposible to feel comfortable in using your new language when discussing medical matters. There even slight miscommunication may have negative reverberations and misunderstandings. We all need absolute clarity when discussing health issues. G

    suburbanlife

    May 30, 2007 at 11:53 pm


Leave a Reply

