Avoiding Crisis

dear mr. postal worker….part 2

leave a comment »

as if this rant wasn’t enough…

when you live overseas, especially in a developing country, you often hear how it’s better to stay clear of the local mail service, because, well, it’s completely unreliable. In Peru we used private messengers, which was really just some guy with a car that would pick up your letter or package and deliver to it’s destination. In Argentina, while I’ve never sent anything by local mail I have in fact received mail from the official mail carrier – that lovely letter from my former maid telling us she was suing us arrived this way. But most of the things I receive are via private courier service – which is pretty much a private mail service.

We are lucky in that because we are connected with the United States Embassy, thanks to something called an APO, we are able to receive and send US mail. Which is how I was able to have my father send me (or at least attempt to send me) the laptop I had ordered ions ago.

I’m beginning to seriously have doubts about this whole United States Postal Service (USPS) superiority over all other things postal in the world.

So yesterday, after months of waiting to hear from the USPS about my insurance claim, I decided to call and check on the status. After several repeated attempts, a really annoying automated system that kept getting everything I said wrong (how in god’s name does a 0 sound like a 4?), I finally spoke with a real live person. (Who, I must say, was actually a really nice and sweet real live person.)

You know what the real live person told me? Yup. As sure as death and taxes. There was no record of our claim. Nothing. Nada. Zip. And the freakin’ claim had been filed on March 21st. That’s almost 2 months ago people. So it’s not like it just didn’t make it into the system yet. Not only did they steal loose my laptop but now they went and lost my claim. This means we have to start from the beginning and hope that this time the claim finds it way into the system. For some reason I’m not too hopeful.

How many more months am I going to have to wait? AHHHHHHHHHHH.

Regardless, looks like we will reorder the laptop in time for my mother-in-law to bring it down with her in August when she comes to visit. So at least, that’s some good news. I only have to wait 3 more months for a laptop that I should have had 3 months ago. And yes, I’m pissed off about that.

USPS is totally on my shit list.

And on an unrelated but yet somehow related note, here’s another reason why not to like the USPS. I recently found out that one of my old bosses – you know one of the women bosses that I think so fondly of. Well, she was recently hired by the USPS to deal with their image problem. Great! Let’s cross them off my list of potential future employers. šŸ˜‰

Written by nicolemarie

May 10, 2007 at 8:59 am

Posted in ranting

Leave a Reply

