Avoiding Crisis

popcorn

with 3 comments

A: Do you like popcorn?
N: Huh? What?
A: Popcorn. do you like it?
N: Uh. Yeah. I guess so. Just as much as the next person.
A: Do you like caramel popcorn?
N: Like crackerjacks?
A: No. Like caramel popcorn? Not like Crackerjacks.
N: Well I don’t like Crackerjacks so if caramel popcorn is anything like Crackerjacks, anything remotely like Crackerjacks, then I won’t like it.
A: Oh. Well. This could be a problem.
N: What are you talking about?
A: Nothing really. But do you like cheese popcorn?
N: Yeah, like the kind that comes in a big tin that we sometimes get as a gift for Christmas from one of my father’s work contacts?
A: Kinda like that. Only better.
N: Yes, that I like.
A: Oh good. We can work on the other stuff later.

This is a conversation that my husband and I had on one of our early dates. I didn’t really understand what he was talking about or why it was so important for me to like popcorn. Soon, very soon, after that, I would learn the true meaning behind what seemed to me like some pretty weird questions at the time.

You see, my husbands family owns and runs a small business. This is there business. Makes sense now, doesn’t it?

While I still don’t like caramel popcorn – though everyone who does tells me that there’s is awesome and I seem to believe them – I do love the cheese popcorn.

And apparently so does my son.

Mmmmm. Mmmmmm. Mmmmmm. Ain’t I lucky, I’ve got me my very own Cookie Popcorn Monster.

Written by nicolemarie

May 8, 2007 at 4:05 pm

Posted in husband, personal, popcorn, video

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That’s so cute!

    Dawn

    May 9, 2007 at 8:30 am

  2. They need to post this to their site!

    Small world…I’m grew up in Northern Minnesota. But I don’t ever remember hearing about this popcorn :).

    Billie

    May 9, 2007 at 5:56 pm

  3. Ha ha Pop Corn..It’s nice snack…

    Franxbudi

    May 12, 2007 at 9:37 am


Leave a Reply

