Avoiding Crisis

detox

with 3 comments

So I haven’t been feeling like my energetic lively self as of late.  It’s most likely just a virus that my body is fighting.  But, this whole sluggish phase that I’m going through has got me thinking about just how sick I’ve been over the past few years.  Now were not talking deathly ill sick, but more like nagging sick.  Last winter alone I had sinusitis, bronchitis twice, strep throat, laryngitis and a series of colds that never seemed to quite go away.  I’m really not looking forward to seeing what this winter has in store for me.

The other day I came across this CNN article that talked about the Lemonade Diet.  I’m not a dieter.  I’ve only ever been on one real diet and that was within the past year and it was for only a few months.

It’s not like I’ve never needed to go on a diet because I have, it’s just that I don’t really have what it takes to stay on a regimented plan like say, the Atkins diet.  My husband and I thought about Atkins at one point – since we are total carb junkies, though much less today then say a year ago thanks to that one diet we were on.  Once, we even went as far as buying the Atkins book.  We took one look at the general idea and what we would have to do and…the very next day, we returned the book.  There was just NO way I could follow something like that.

Which is why I’m not really sure why I’m even entertaining the idea of going on a detox diet.  But, maybe because these particular diets are only for a few weeks, they seem less intimidating.  That, and well, I’m kinda up for a challenge and not to mention a good body cleansing.

So I read about the Lemonade diet the other day and I immediately laughed at the idea of even attempting it.  Yet somehow, as the days passed, it’s grown on me.  Well, at least the idea of the whole detox diet thing.  And not as a way to lose weight, but really, as a way to possibly get myself feeling better and healthier.  I don’t know,  maybe I really am being poisoned by my own bad eating habits?

What do you all think?  Anyone have an opinion? Advice? Suggestions?

Written by nicolemarie

May 8, 2007 at 3:05 pm

Posted in diet, food, personal

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. hmm. . .I don’t know. I’m skeptical.

    Dawn

    May 9, 2007 at 8:30 am

  2. How funny….so the deal breaker in your relationship was going to be popcorn? By the way thank you for the comment and nice meeting you

    misstressm

    May 9, 2007 at 8:33 pm

  3. I saw something for the Lemonade Diet. Someone who tried said they felt pretty good. But I suppose you’d have to like lemonade.

    I do a detox that goes nine days. You have four cleansing (fasting) days and five “shake” days where you eat one organic meal and have shakes for the other two. I’ve lost 12 pounds (I’ve done it twice) and I feel very good. It’s a program that will cost about $300 U.S. for a thirty-day supply.

    And I did Atkins for two weeks. I suffer from depression, but I have never been so completely depressed as I was for those two weeks. Never. Unless you have a ton of weight to lose, I’d skip it!

    Finn

    May 10, 2007 at 12:11 pm


Leave a Reply

