Avoiding Crisis

latest news on the birthday plans

with 2 comments

yes, yet another update on the never ending saga that is my upcoming 30th birthday.

Which, by the way, is in a mere 3 months and 7 days. In case you were wondering, ’cause I just know you all were.

Back in February I wrote this about how, for the most part, I hate my own birthday and any celebration that is attached to it. Then in March, I wrote this about how I wasn’t sure if I wanted my twin brother and possibly my entire immediate family to come and visit for my birthday.

Seeing that it’s now May, and surely y’all are sitting around waiting anxiously to hear the latest, I thought I’d give you an update.

Well, ladies and gentlemen, the plans have been set. The reservations have been made. And guess what? You’re not invited! Neither is any member of my family, and that includes my kids. Okay, so that’s a lie. My dear husband is invited.

Sorry to be so excited about this, especially the part about you not being invited, but well, ah, I’m a bitch, what can I say.

And oh how you wish you were invited. I know you do. Oh yes you do! Well, okay maybe you don’t but after you actually hear what we have planned then I’m sure you’ll change your mind and beg me to include you. Which, ah, I won’t. (There I go again, being a bitch and all…oops.)

So, as we had always planned my mother-in-law is coming to visit. My parents decided that they would wait until October when timing was better for them (and the weather is warmer – which, we all know, is the real reason for the delay).

Without my parents coming down I went back to my original plan of going away for a few days and told my twin brother, in a very loving tone, under no circumstances was he to get on a plane and show up for my birthday. (And who the heck cared that it was his birthday too.) I think he got the hint.

The other brother, the doctor, is just happy to get off the hook, not have to take a 10 hour flight, and instead can focus on setting up his new house in Durham, NC and preparing for his new job at Duke University Hospital. (Aren’t we all just so darn proud of him. Hold on a minute while I go puke. I’m better now, thanks.)

So, the babysitter is all lined up. Yes, my darling mother-in-law, the woman whose sole purpose in life is to be one of those doting grandmothers who spoils her grandkids and make mommy look really really bad. Yes, that will be the babysitter. I’m sure I’ll have to do major damage control upon my return.

Did I mention what it is we are actually going to do? No, not yet? I didn’t mention the whole two night excursion to Carmelo, Uruguay and a blissful stay at the Four Seasons? Oh, well, excuse me for stringing you along this whole time.

My husband has just made reservations for us to stay here. This is what we’ll see when we arrive, this is what I’ll be doing for at least a few hours, and this is what are room will look like. See, I told you you’d be begging me to invite you.

Since we’ve moved to Argentina I’ve heard lot of wonderful things about this hotel and have long since wanted to go but being that my husband hates places where there is nothing to do aside from relax and well relax it’s never been on our radar screen. Okay, let me rephrase that. It’s never been on HIS radar screen. It’s definitely made a blip or two on mine.

And that’s the funny thing about birthdays, it gets to be all about the person whose birthday it is and not about anyone else. (Even if you’re a twin, goddammit!) So, apparently, we get to do what I want. This is a very strange concept to me. I think I’m kinda liking it, I could get used to this. It could be the start of something new. (oh, crap, now I have that stupid song from High School Musical in my head, you know the one that goes, this is the start of something new, it feels so right, to be hear with you. oh. crap. crap. crap. must. turn. on. radio. need new tune. immediately.)

And since were on the topic of my birthday, I just want to reassure you all that I’m NOT FREAKING OUT about turning 30. Geez, all I did was start a blog called Avoiding Crisis and talk a bit about how turning 30 is a big deal to me and BAM! you all think that I’m going to totally freak out when August 9th comes rolling around. Which, by the way, I assure you I will most definitely not be doing.

No, instead, I’ll be relaxing at the Four Seasons.

Written by nicolemarie

May 2, 2007 at 9:13 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sounds like you’ll have a wonderful time. Don’t let 30 freak you out. 40 is the one we should all be worried about.

    Dawn

    May 3, 2007 at 8:15 am

  2. That looks like a really great hotel. I’m glad you’re getting to do what you want for your birthday. Have a blast!

    Zan

    May 3, 2007 at 9:07 pm


Leave a Reply

