Avoiding Crisis

tattoos

with 8 comments

I have a tattoo. It’s on the inside of my left ankle. It’s made up of Japanese kanji and two teeny tiny little butterflies. The kanji translate to mean “twin” and the butterflies are supposed to represent my twin brother and I. And NO, he doesn’t have the same tattoo.

I had the tattoo done when I was a freshman in college at Ursinus College. I remember that my best friend at the time and I drove to a neighboring town and we were both inked. If I remember correctly she had got a tattoo of a turtle. Which seems so fitting since these days she can be found here.

We haven’t spoken since we both transferred colleges after our freshman year. But I have never forgotten her. To me she was Fire and to her I was Ice, needless to say we both were fans of Robert Frost’s poetry. Either that, or it had something to do with her having red hair and me having blondish hair. I really should email her.

Over the years I’ve thought about getting another tattoo. I don’t really have a great reason for wanting another, but then again, I don’t think I need a reason. The fact that I just want another and that I like them should be reason enough.

After my daughter was born I thought of having something put on my back that would signify her birth and then again after my son was born I thought about the same thing, this time something that would represent both of my kids. I didn’t do either.

My husband hates tattoos, he doesn’t understand why I got one in the first place (which I did 5 years before ever meeting him so it really doesn’t involve him) and he’s pretty much strongly dissuaded me from getting another.

Well, it’s not like he’s tied me up in the basement or threatened to divorce me if I got another, but like a disappointed parent (sans the condescending tone) he has made it clear that he would be very unhappy if I went through with it and got another tattoo. Plus, he always brings up the fact that having more than one will make it that much more difficult to say no to my children if they ever entertain the idea. With one tattoo, we can chalk it up to mommy’s crazy past; but with two or three, it becomes much more of a challenge to play it off as youthful stupidity.

Well, tonight, that all changed.

After dinner, we were talking and the conversation turned to the topic of tattoos. I guess one of the US Marines that works with my husband just had both his forearms covered in ink and he was telling me about it. This then led to a discussion of my tattoo, how we would handle it if one of our kids ever wanted a tattoo or piercing, and whether or not I still wanted another one.

And yes, I still would like another.

So, out of the blue, catching me completely by surprise, he says “well, if that’s what you want for your 30th birthday, then I will support your decision to get tattoo.” So, after snapping myself out my state of shock and picking myself up off the floor, I replied, “well that’s very nice of you to say that, maybe I’ll just have to get two.”

Written by nicolemarie

April 29, 2007 at 8:38 pm

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I like tattoos on guys. I keep going back and forth as to if I want a small one. I would get it on my back too. I’m thinking an apple core.

    Michele

    April 30, 2007 at 9:57 am

  2. I like tattoos on everyone. And I have a tattoo on the inside of my left ankle too. What’ll you get for your new 30th birthday tattoo?

    Dawn

    April 30, 2007 at 10:06 am

  3. My guy isn’t a huge fan either but he deals with it. What about them doesn’t your husband like, I’m curious (in a good way).

    Have your kids draw something up to represent themselves and have that tattooed, it’s better than refrigerator art any day!

    😉

    Manini

    May 1, 2007 at 11:30 am

  4. michele – and what would your other say? She’s probably blame me for being a very bad influence.

    dawn – not sure what I’d get, or even if I will get one. but it probably will be along the lines of some symbol that represents strength

    manini – not sure what it is he doesn’t like – he’s never been that specific. You’re site is really interesting. I’m particularly intrigued by the images of the tattoos you have around your forearm – where did you get the idea from?

    nicolemarie

    May 2, 2007 at 1:44 pm

  5. Thanks so much. The idea or the symbols themselves? The tattoo are West African Adinka symbols.

    http://www.welltempered.net/adinkra/htmls/list.htm

    I have more sources if you need them just ask! The idea itself… who knows where ideas come from they just do. 🙂

    Manini

    May 3, 2007 at 12:08 am

  6. http://www.welltempered.net/adinkra/htmls/adinkra/wawa.htm

    This one may be of interest to you. And actually one of my best friends has this tattooed on her wrist. It’s a good one!

    Manini

    May 3, 2007 at 12:14 am

  7. I used to have a start tattoo on my back but my B/f got me to get it off. I still miss it!!

    star tattoos

    May 3, 2007 at 2:20 am

  8. thanks for the link Manini, something along those lines is actually exactly what I’m looking for.

    nicolemarie

    May 3, 2007 at 3:35 pm


Leave a Reply

