Avoiding Crisis

one final comment on Virginia Tech

leave a comment »

A few days ago I received an email from a very good family friend who also happens to be a senior at Virginia Tech.  She shared with us a very heart felt story about one of the victims that I thought I’d share with all of you.

One of my fellow dancers, Reema Samaha, was killed last Monday.  She was a beautiful dancer and person. 

I have heard this story over and over, but I thought I’d share it with all of you.  She brought a few of her high school friends with her to the Beginner’s
hour of practice. Not one of them wanted to stand next to her. She danced through the beginner’s hour, and at the end she approached Hali and asked her if she could stay and try to follow along with the advanced group.  They hesitated but said sure why not?  After about 5 minutes they all clearly
saw how wonderful she was and how talented she was and she immediately became he newest and brightest member of the advanced Hill and Veil group.

At her funeral, which I did not attend, but those high school friends of hers
did and so they shared this story, that her father was speaking about how Reema approached the pearly gates and St. Peter said she could enter on two conditions:

1. She had to teach him to bellydance.
2. She had to teach God to bellydance.

Which I’m sure she is doing both of those right now, because that’s the way she is.

On Monday, April 30th, I will honor the victims of the Virginia Tech Tragedy by taking part in a One-Day Blog Silence. Join me.

Written by nicolemarie

April 27, 2007 at 9:23 am

Posted in virginia tech

Leave a Reply

