Avoiding Crisis

Ugh, I hate when that happens

with 5 comments

I had just finished writing about how when I lived in Peru I used to get sick and how we called this flu like illness that would seem to go around “Lima Crud” but how now that I live in Argentina I seem to still be getting sick but that I don’t have a catchy name for what I come down with but then I hit some key by accident and it was gone, all gone. Every word, every letter just vanished.

And since I’m not feeling 100%, which is what had originally prompted me to write about “Lima Crud” and my Argentine version, I’m not going to try to recreate the last post and instead I’m going to go to bed and hope that when I wake up in the morning my sore throat is all better and I feel a little less zombie like.

********************************************************************

Okay, so I now LOVE wordpress.com. Lookie here…the draft of my last post, you know the one that I just wrote vanished into thin air, just happen to turn up. And since I can’t deny you the pleasure of reading it…here it is:

When we lived in Peru you’d often here people complaining about Lima Crud (LC) – and no we weren’t discussing the high level of pollution in the city, though the pollution was definitely unhealthy. LC was what we called that icky flu like illness that we’d all seem to get from time to time.

LC was awful when you got it, you felt like complete shit for a week and walked around in a zombie-like state for two. You were pretty much reduced to a mumbling, bumbling, useless mess. I used to get LC a few times a year. I don’t miss it. I do miss Peru, however.

I haven’t come down with a case of LC in two years. Instead, now, I get the Argentine version.

Where we live in Argentina the pollution isn’t bad, we can drink the tap water without getting deathly ill and I don’t have to wash my fruits and vegetables in a water/bleach solution to kill off the funky bacteria and parasites. Yet, since I’ve moved here I’ve had to make a whole lot more visits to the doctors office and take a whole lot more medicine than I ever had when I lived in the United States or Peru for that matter. Last winter alone, I had a case of strep throat, was diagnosed with bronchitis twice and had what seemed to be a chronic case of laryngitis.

I had forgotten all about the crappy winter I had last year until I woke up this morning with a sore, dry, scratchy throat. Now, my body aches and my eyes are heavy. Whatever I’m coming down with feels quite familiar.

I really need to come up with a good name for this Argentina version.

I’m going to bed.

Written by nicolemarie

April 26, 2007 at 9:33 pm

Posted in Argentina, personal, Peru

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Males aires! 😉

    prospectus

    April 27, 2007 at 8:07 am

  2. Or better – Malaise Aires!

    prospectus

    April 27, 2007 at 8:10 am

  3. This is probably too belated for me to say, “Hope you feel better,” though I do, so instead I’ll ask, “What was it like living in Peru?”

    Zan

    May 3, 2007 at 9:50 pm

  4. Zan, I’m feeling okay. not 100%. thanks for asking.

    And about living in Peru. It was wonderful. I really liked to experience. The people are wonderful. Though, to be honest, it isn’t a place for everyone and it can be very challenging and just plain difficult at times. In Lima, where we lived, we had to endure between 6 and 7 months of cloudiness (makes you realize just how much your body needs the sun!).

    If you have specific questions about Peru please feel free to email me. Are you thinking about traveling there?

    nicolemarie

    May 4, 2007 at 10:19 am

  5. Maybe someday. I’m a fan of daydreaming about world travel, but I don’t often have the funds to pull it off. I don’t really have any specific questions at the moment, but if I think of any, I’ll drop you a line.

    When I lived in Germany, I heard people call it the land of no sunshine, because it was overcast most of the time. I still loved it, though.

    I know what you mean about some places not being for everyone. I went to Senegal last year and, coming from spoiled America, you definitely had to want to be there.

    Zan

    May 10, 2007 at 4:16 pm


Leave a Reply

