Avoiding Crisis

my harmony

with one comment

There is a harmony in autumn, and a luster in its sky, which through the summer is not heard or seen, as if it could not be, as if it had not been! ~ Percy Bysshe Shelley

Here, in my part of the world, yesterday, Fall finally decided to show up. I do hope it sticks around for a while.

For those of you up in the Northern Hemisphere who are now scratching your heads and wondering why I’m writing about Fall, and not Spring, well it’s because we down here in the Southern Hemisphere are reversed.  Or maybe it’s you all up there that are reversed.  Whichever.  So while you all are just finishing up Winter, we have just closed up our pool, put away our sandals and shorts are are gearing up for our Winter. Though I must admit our Winter is a bit mild compared to the New York winters of my youth and while I miss snow from time to time I really don’t miss the bitter cold.

While the first day of Fall was March 21st — as I was made well aware of this by my daughter who came home from school singing “autumn leaves are falling down, falling down, falling down…” to the tune of London Bridge — we haven’t seen many fallen leaves.  Actually,  it’s been rather warm around here (last Wednesday it was about 80 degrees Fahrenheit) and very rainy (since March 21st, we’ve had 17 days of rain.)  It just hasn’t been, well, Fall-like. Until now that is.  Finally.

There is just something about the Fall season that puts me in a good mood. The crisp cool air, the beautiful mosaic of colors, the fallen leaves and the silence.

Yet I have to admit, I do still miss Autumn in the Northeast United States.  It has taken some time, about 4 years, to get used to Fall without Football, the American kind.  Instead, when I’m expecting April showers and May flowers, I get Fall leaves and Autumn breezes.

But no matter where I am, I can honestly say that I love the Fall. I cherish this time of year, regardless of which months it may happen to fall within. And I know this because I spent two years living in a location where there was no Fall – no beautiful burnt orange or deep red leaves and no cool crisp air. They said there was, the locals would swear that it was Fall, but we couldn’t see it or feel it.  In my opinion, there were just two seasons – sunny (5 months) and cloudy (7 months). And that kinda sucked. I’m still not sure how I made it two years without real seasonal changes, but you adapt. I guess I did.

When I woke up yesterday morning I was delighted to sense the chill in the air. It was rather brisk outside. I put on a pair of jeans, a chunky sweater and even dusted off last years boots. It was like saying hello to a dear old friend that I had lost touch with and being able to pick up exactly where we last left off.  I couldn’t have been more comfortable.

I’ve traded in my bright orange Crocs for my warm fussy slippers and my tank tops for my cozy fleece robe. Fall has finally arrived.

Time to curl up on the couch with soft blanket, a good book and a hot cup of tea. Now, if I only had some Football to watch. The American kind that is.

Written by nicolemarie

April 25, 2007 at 10:38 pm

Posted in moods, personal, seasons

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. So sweet. That is really quite cool that I read someone’s blog who’s enjoying the FALL right now. And I’ve been to Australia so I actually knew that the other half of the world was all backwards.

    Dawn

    April 26, 2007 at 8:21 am


Leave a Reply

