Avoiding Crisis

another sign you’re getting old

with 3 comments

You enjoy a rather strong cup of coffee after 5PM and end up being too wired to go to sleep until 2AM. But yet, when you have a few glasses of wine after 5PM, you end up falling asleep while putting the kids to bed. It used to be the other way around. Damn, when did things get all messed up?

When I was in college I could drink coffee at all hours of the night and still fall asleep with ease whenever I wanted. And back then I wanted so badly to find something that would keep me up (something that wasn’t illegal or really bad for my health, that is) and my best option was always caffeine. It’s not like I didn’t try my hardest to use coffee as a stimulant on many occasion to help me stay awake so that I could get in a few extra hours of studying or finish up the term paper due for my 8AM class. I was a very loyal customer at Columbia Bagels – I think it was because I just loved the Blue’s Clues themed cups that they used for their large coffee and maybe because it was across the street from my apartment. Back then, though, coffee never kept me up. It just didn’t. Of course, now, when I don’t want it too, it does. Go figure.

It’s 9:30AM, I’m on my second cup killing time and waiting for the caffeine to kick in and jolt me out of my current zombie-like state. (That’s what I get for staying up until 2AM!) Maybe then I’ll go for a run and let the adrenaline do the rest. That, or I’ll just brew another pot. But not to worry, I learned my lesson last night, not a drop more past 4:59PM.

Written by nicolemarie

April 17, 2007 at 9:47 am

Posted in coffee, life

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Welcome to the 30s (almost).

    Dawn

    April 17, 2007 at 10:07 am

  2. what else should i expect?

    nicolemarie

    April 17, 2007 at 10:18 am

  3. Well… you should expect a tendency to want to burn the candle at both ends, as your children get older, have different demands upon your time, and as you increasingly begin to wish for increased alone times with yourself. To keep yourself in touch with you, and to sort out changing priorities… this tends to bring on a different kind of exhaustion. 🙂

    suburbanlife

    April 17, 2007 at 11:30 am


Leave a Reply

