Avoiding Crisis

Happy Easter

leave a comment »

So I’ve been kinda busy lately with Easter festivities.  My daughter is really into Easter this year so therefore, I’m really into Easter this year.  We’ve been keeping busy by doing all kinds of activities (dying eggs) and eating all kinds of yummy goodies (chocolate, chocolate and more chocolate).   

My kids were off from school on Thursday so we had an Easter party for my daughter’s class.  We invited all 26 kids and their mothers to come over and dye Easter eggs, American style.  This might not seem like a big deal but since my daughter attends an Argentine school and therefore most of her classmates are Argentine – there is one girl who is a German national – egg dying is a foreign concept.  We had about 12 mothers and 16 kids show up.  It was a lot of fun and a huge success.    It was really great to share our tradition with them and watch how much they all enjoyed it.  I think the adults had more fun then the kids.  But isn’t it always that way?

IMG_2337

I also learned that the key to having a “peaceful” egg dying party, where everyone is happy and no one is fighting over the cups of dye, is to have an obscene amount of dye on hand. Which, of course, we did.  I just love when things work.

So yesterday, continuing on with our Easter activities, I made an Eater Bunny cake.  Having made one last year, I tried to do something a bit different – but there are only so many ways you can make a bunny out of cake.  This years bunny is a bit smaller since I used 6 inch round pans as opposed to 9 inch and I added Easter eggs around the cake for decoration.  I also used cream cheese frosting, which I hadn’t done in the past.  I think it came out pretty good and it tasted delicious, the latter which is obviously the most important part.

Say hello to Mr. Easter Bunny Cake 2007.  Isn’t he just egg-stra special? (sorry, couldn’t help myself.)

IMG_2368

So tomorrow we get to play Easter Bunny and hide eggs and baskets for the kids.  As you can probably tell, I’m really enjoying Easter this year, which is quite peculiar since I typically don’t like holidays at all.  But this year, it’s been rather nice.  Heck, I’ll always take any excuse to eat obnoxious amounts of chocolate.

Happy Easter!

Written by nicolemarie

April 7, 2007 at 9:00 pm

Leave a Reply

