Avoiding Crisis

I carried a watermelon, how about you?

with one comment

Apparently someone typed in the phrase “20 stupid things to say on a date” into a search engine and that somehow led them to my blog.   

For some reason, the string of words “20 stupid things to say on a date” immediately made me think of the line “I carried a watermelon” from the film Dirty Dancing.  “I carried a watermelon” is the first thing that Baby’s (Jennifer Grey’s character) says when she meets Johnny (Patrick Swayze’s character) for the first time.  It’s kinda like an open mouth, insert foot moment.  You know the kind.  Like when you say something and almost immediately wish you could take it back because, well, it was just  really uncool and rather embarrassing.   (Okay, so for those of you who have absolutely no clue as to what I’m talking about, or maybe need to be reminded of how it goes, or just really love the movie Dirty Dancing and feel the need to watch it over and over again,  you can check out a clip from the film here that shows the scene I’m talking about.)  

So as I was saying the “20 stupid things to say on a date” made me think about “I carried a watermelon” which made me think of all the stupid things I’ve said.  And there have been many.  Too many.  Like the time that I was walking back to my High School from Junior Varsity softball practice (our practice fields were off-site at a local park) and a few of the guys from the Varsity Baseball team stopped to see if I needed a ride.  In the car was this guy that I actually kinda had a crush on, but didn’t think he even knew I existed.  Anyhow, I accepted the ride.  When we got back to the High School, as I was about to get out of the car, the guy I liked asked me something about something about what I was doing Saturday night.  And while I don’t remember exactly what I said, I do remember that my answer had absolutely nothing to do with what I as doing on Saturday night and probably made absolutely no sense at all.  This was my first “I carried a watermelon” moment.  I still remember how I felt at that moment.   It was one of those, oh my gosh, let me die right now so I don’t have to live with the embarrassment of my words. 

An “I carried a watermelon” moment stays with you forever.

Do you have an “I carried a watermelon” moment?  Please share. 

Written by nicolemarie

April 5, 2007 at 9:31 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. so cool to find someone who appreciates the meaning of ‘i carried a watermelon’! i have definately had way too many of these moments, the last of which was when one of the big bosses in my company suggested a promotion. i was caught by huge surprise and made a total tit of myself, with lots of fumbling and bumbling. so i can definatley see where you coming from!

    jenwynne

    April 20, 2007 at 9:26 am


Leave a Reply

