Avoiding Crisis

Ah! Snarf! Ugh! Eh? Barf! Someone please tell me this is a joke!

with 4 comments

There are SO many things wrong with this article. 

Especially this: 

For Regina [a junior at Barnard], the priorities are clear: a relationship always wins out over school work. “I definitely choose guys over my academics. Absolutely,” she says. As a result, her once top-notch grades have noticeably suffered. Nonetheless, she believes the trade-off is reasonable. “Grades are important for getting a job. And since I would rather be married as a job than have a job, it makes sense to prioritize that,” she explains.

and this:

“Since the whole undergrad [boyfriend] didn’t work out, I figure I’ll do that [finance work] for two years, so I’ll get into a good business school. And that’s a really good place to meet husbands, because they’re like the right age,” she says.  “I guess that the women’s movement just made you have to wait a little bit longer.”

Please Mary mother of Jesus tell me how this could be coming out of a Barnard student’s mouth.   Have we time warped back to the 1950s?

Hold on while I go throw up, beat my head against a wall and let out a scream that is sure to send my children into shock or at least make them think that something horrible is happening to their mother. 

Okay, so after I calm down a bit I’ll come back to this and try to be rational.  If that’s even possible.

Stay tuned.

In the mean time, check out this article and tell me what YOU think.

Written by nicolemarie

March 30, 2007 at 1:43 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. OK. Wow.

    I knew lots of girls at school who were definitely striving to get the MRS degree (I went to a private school in Minnesota). They all planned on working for a few years and then becoming a trophy wife….not a stay at home mom (and I think it’s different).

    I saw the same thing in the military. Lots of women married the men soley because they knew they’d be able to be a stay at home mom/trophy wife. I wonder how often it happens in the State Dept?

    But is all of this all that bad? I guess I would say that going to school only to find a mate is a bit sad.

    OK, I think I am just going to post my thoughts on my blog 🙂

    Billie

    March 30, 2007 at 3:23 pm

  2. Well, Nicolemarie – this was sure an interesting read!
    First, how many of these young women paid for their own education, with funds they earned through necessary but mindnumbing menial jobs, or several jobs at the same time for that matter? I paid for 8 years of post-secondary education, through my own efforts, scholarships, strange jobs and life in rooming-houses not conducive to meeting “The man of my dreams”. Obtaining the entree to the “correct” social stream was not the main motivator for my seeking an education, but finding out about life in general, people, and most importantly where I wanted to position myself in order to live coherently as an individual who gives as well as takes from life. In order to live a balanced life,might be a goal that is attractive not only to young women, but also to young men, and one does often not have a terribly clear idea of what this is, especially while engaged in an education where a lot of exposure to different ideas tends to provide a rather chaotic and cloudy field. It needs further experience with jobs, contact with other people and a settling of all the information that is flying about in one’s head to arrive at a good decision for exactly what kind of person makes an desirable life-mate for oneself, or to determine what requirements are needed to live a balanced life.
    Or so I think on this.

    suburbanlife

    March 30, 2007 at 4:27 pm

  3. I nearly choked on my tea when I read this the other day. (I usually don’t read the Spectator, but I picked up a copy to read as I killed time in my office hours.) I have no problem with students who want to get an education and who hope to meet a life partner, but I’m outraged by these young women who only want the life partner, who aren’t in any way interested in bettering themselves intellectually. I’m glad that Barnard alumnae are up in arms about this–Barnard tends to get short shrift to begin with (for no good reason–it’s a top-grade liberal arts college), and this kind of bad press is just reinforcing mistaken stereotypes.

    Still, I can only wonder how these women were admitted to Barnard and Columbia. I seriously doubt that admissions committees smile upon personal statements that admit to viewing the university as a place only for finding a husband. Do these women lie? Omit? Misrepresent? Buy personal statements? How can we at Columbia work to ensure that we don’t waste our resources on such people?

    Jon Kenneth Williams

    March 31, 2007 at 8:50 pm

  4. jon – I can’t really say that Barnard alum are responding to this article since I doubt many have seen it or will see it. Not like we keep track of what’s going on in the Spectator after we leave morningside heights. I’m really curious as to how current students are responding. And what my old thesis advisor (who’s actually quoted in the article) thinks about this.

    nicolemarie

    April 2, 2007 at 12:14 am


Leave a Reply

