Avoiding Crisis

an interview with Anna Quindlen

with one comment

No. No. No.  It’s not what you think.  I  still haven’t been able to shake that nagging self doubt and actaully contact Ms. Quindlen.  But, I did just come across this interview. And seeing how I’ve long been a fan of Anna Quindlen – a fan of her writing and of her Barnard-ish-ness – I had to check it out. 

I thought, in case there are other aspiring writers that read this blog or happen to stumble upon it one day, I’d share it with you all.  ‘Cause, even if I feel alone in this journey of mine – I know, you don’t need to remind me, writing is one of the loneliest jobs there is – I’m pretty sure that there are others out there going through the same process.

The interview is short and interesting.  But if you don’t have time to check it out, here’s what Ms. Quindlen had to say when asked if she had any practical advice for writers. 

It all comes down to the Nike slogan. Just do it. So many people tell me, well, I’m thinking of writing a book. Does anyone say I’m thinking of performing surgery, or I’m thinking of designing a building? Writing seems to be the only profession people imagine you can do by thinking about doing it. No. Put your butt in a chair and write. And never mind feeling blocked. Everyone feels blocked all the time. Madeline L’Engle (A Wrinkle in Time) once said, “Inspiration usually comes during work, rather than before it.

Ah, so simple. And still, it’s just so darn hard to follow. 

So, for the rest of the evening, I’ll be finishing up some research and attempt to write another opinion/commentary piece to submit to blogcritics.com.  I’ll be sure to let you know what happens.

Written by nicolemarie

March 29, 2007 at 9:02 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. There’s a lot in what she says. The best ideas usually come when the pen is moving on the page.

    prospectus

    March 30, 2007 at 7:07 am


Leave a Reply

