Avoiding Crisis

now here’s one thing I never thought I’d ever do. never ever.

with 5 comments

Seriously, how in the world did I become one of those people that makes cakes for all occasions.  Okay, maybe not ALL occasions, but definitely birthdays and some holidays.  (And, by the way, there is nothing wrong with those people, I just never thought I’d be one of them.) 

Since my 4 year old just loves the idea of little leprechauns, rainbows and pots of gold, this year we decided to celebrate St. Patty’s day in our house. (And we’re not even Irish.  Not even a teeny tiny bit Irish) 

So, I baked and decorated a cake.

st.patty's day 07

I know, it’s nothing too special. But still. Four years ago I had never really even attempted to decorate a cake – aside from canned icing and a few sprinkles. I’m really not that artistic. At least I try, right?  But sometimes I surprise myself. And over the past few years I’ve gotten a bit better at cake making.  So I figured I’d show you my progress.

This is the first cake I ever made. It was for my daughter’s first birthday party. 

Abbey's First Cake

And then came her 2nd Birthday.  She had two cakes – the number 2 (how original) and a cookie monster cake (we used the same mold her grandmother had used 20 some years before for her father).   I decided to challenge myself a little.  Why not? It was only a week after I had given birth to my second child.  Was I nuts???

cookie monster

My son’s first birthday was simple.  It was towards the end of football season so obviously we ended up with this:

football

My Dora the Explorer obsessed 3 year old just had to have a Dora cake and since Dora isn’t really a big deal down here I had to use my imagination.  It really tested by artistic ability.  It also showed me that I don’t have much artistic ability.

dora cake

and of course, no Dora party would have been complete without a star for my special star catcher

star

So since my daughter (and husband) had started to get used to having cakes for all different occasions we just couldn’t not have a bunny cake last Easter.  (Oh no! What am I going to do this year?)

Bunny Cake4

Which finally leads us to the grand masterpieces from this year’s birthday parties.

For my son:

cars

and my daughter:

with candles

So seriously, someone please stop me before I go a little over board.

Okay.  So I leave you with one last photo from today’s St. Patty’s Day ccelebration.  Cause, while I’m so NOT a mommy-blogger, I too can brag about how adorably cute my kids are.  Here’s my daughter…with, of course, a cake.

abbey all ready to eat

Oh, and if that wasn’t enough pictures for you, there are even more cake pictures here.

Written by nicolemarie

March 17, 2007 at 6:01 pm

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Very impressive, all those cakes! I think my favorite is the purple star. And now I’m craving cake. Mmmm, frosting.

    Jen

    March 17, 2007 at 8:32 pm

  2. I’m certainly impressed.

    Zan

    March 17, 2007 at 9:06 pm

  3. Me want COOKIE! I want the Dora Explorer cake (I would be tempted to not cut into it). Baking as an act of Love…wow!

    suburbanlife

    March 17, 2007 at 11:06 pm

  4. Yes, I must admit, it always pains me to have to cut into these cakes. The car cakes, for example, took hours to make and only minutes to destroy. The look of pure joy on my kids faces (which are also typically covered in frosting) makes up for it though.

    nicolemarie

    March 18, 2007 at 12:31 am

  5. You are pretty talented. Insane, but talented. Where’s mine? =P

    Michele

    March 19, 2007 at 8:14 pm


Leave a Reply

