Avoiding Crisis

contest! can you name my mystery illness?

with one comment

Okay, so it’s not a real contest.  I can’t offer you anything material in return for your diagnosis aside from my eternal gratitude.  

Yesterday afternoon, around 3 PM I started to feel a bit off.  My body got weak, my stomach began to tie itself into knots, my hands trembled, and I got VERY tired.  By 6 PM, I was dizzy, nauseous, felt as though I had to go to the bathroom (this is my very nice way of saying take a dump) and/or vomit, but couldn’t do either.  Oh, and I had an excruciating headache.  

Got any ideas yet? Nope.  Shall I continue?

I didn’t sleep well last night.  The combination of restlessness and a killer tummy ache kept me up.  When I woke up this morning I wasn’t feeling much better.  I had absolutely no energy (yet I somehow managed to make waffles for the kids.  Am I a great mom or what?) and felt as thought I was walking around in a fog.  The headache from hell returned and then came the chills.  (By the way, if you’re wondering how i’m doing right now, and can’t wait until the end of my story, I am feeling a bit better. Thank you for your concern.)  So I ended up falling asleep on my daughter’s bed under three blankets while my husband and kids proceeded to create an entire Little People city on the floor.  It wasn’t until Hi-5 came on that I was abruptly brought back to reality by my daughter screaming “Hi-5 is on! Hi-5 is on!” I would eventually make my way out of bed, grab a fleece robe that is typically only reserved for really cold winter days, which today is not, and rolled myself up into a little ball, because that’s the only way my tummy doesn’t hurt. Unfortunately, at this point my son thought it a good idea to then jump on me  (not so much fun!) and smother me with kisses and hugs (lot’s of fun!). 

So now I’m feeling a bit better but not great.  I would love to just sleep all day, cause that’s what I feel like my body is telling me to do, but the reality of a day in bed is oh so far from happening.  

Also, this isn’t the first time I’ve had these symptoms.  Sometime last year I felt exactly like this, maybe even a bit worse.  It lasted about 24 -48 hours and then life returned to normal.  I guess I have a few more hours to go.

So, anyone got any ideas?     

And NO, it’s not morning sickness!

Written by nicolemarie

March 10, 2007 at 8:23 pm

Posted in general, life, personal

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yes, I had the same thing last year except it lasted 6 days. I caught it from my son. I missed work for the first time time in 12 years. I was informed that it was a virus. Nothing you can do, but wait it out.

    Barry

    March 11, 2007 at 1:59 am


Leave a Reply

