Avoiding Crisis

why my dad is way cooler than your dad

with 3 comments

My dad has officially retired for the 2nd time in his life. 

I thought I’d continue with my trend of completely selfless and truely benevolent writings where I highlight the greatness of others.  (Not sure what’s gotten into me lately.  But I promise, this won’t last much longer.  I will return to being that narcassitic whiner that you’ve all come to love.)

I know that it’s typically the parent’s job to brag about their children’s achievements and sucessesses.  But I just can’t help myself. 

This is my father:

NAF Founder and Chairman, and Chairman Emeritus of Citigroup, Sanford (Sandy) I. Weill said, “John Ferrandino has taken NAF to new heights and he has been a true pioneer in leading education reform.  I want to thank him for his leadership and partnership over the years.  He has been a trusted advisor to our Board, to the entire education community, and to me.  John is widely known for his passion and candor in tackling the critical issues facing our nation’s secondary schools.  His vision and dedication to young people have been a guiding force not only for NAF, but have helped inspire change in school districts throughout the United States and abroad.”

Mr. Ferrandino became President of the National Academy Foundation in 1998.  He helped expand NAF from 290 academies in 33 states to 529 academies in 40 states and the District of Columbia, and oversaw the organization’s expansion to the United Kingdom.  …  Prior to his appointment at the National Academy Foundation, Mr. Ferrandino served as Supervising Superintendent of New York City’s Division of High Schools from 1990 to 1996, and was responsible for educating over a quarter of a million students.

Okay so even if he is a die hard work-a-holic who missed way to many of my field hockey and softball games.  And even if he is a overweight food fiend with a not so healthy heart and absolutely no will power to change.  He’s still way cooler than your dad.  And I’m still way proud of him! 

How cool is your dad?  

Written by nicolemarie

March 4, 2007 at 9:37 pm

Posted in Dad, family, life

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I met your dad in conjunction with a Gates Foundation grant. He is a very cool guy.

    Barry

    March 4, 2007 at 10:25 pm

  2. I agree. My uncle is pretty darn cool =D

    Michele

    March 5, 2007 at 1:16 am

  3. I thought that the presence of a father is important, no matter how busy he is, in order to get his children’s love.

    But, well…being proud of your dad is anyhow related to loving him.

    So, I hope all fathers out there…if you’re too busy to be there for your children, at least make sure to do something great so that your children can be proud of you. And…you still can get their love.

    Adwina

    March 5, 2007 at 5:50 am


Leave a Reply

