Avoiding Crisis

the measure of one’s life is not how easily they can be found online, but it sure does help when you’re looking for lost friends

with one comment

What happens when you google yourself only to find out that you don’t exist?  Or that you only exist as a high school cheerleader in Texas.  But you’re NOT a cheerleader nor ever lived anywhere near the great state of Texas.  Does this make you feel like any less of a person?  Does it diminish the value of your own achievements?  For some I think it does.  For me, not so much.  I take care of that all by myself, don’t need Google to do it for me. 🙂

A good friend of mine mentioned this the other day.  Our coversation went a bit like this:

  • C:  Have you ever googled yourself?
  • N: Yeah, why?  Did you google me?  What did you find?
  • C: No, not everything is about you, you know.  I googled myself.  You know what turned up?
  • N: No.  Do tell.
  • C:  Apparently the ONLY thing I’ve done in my life is run because the only thing that comes up are the race results from the various races that I’ve been in.
  • N: Okay.  That’s not so bad.
  • C:  Well, yeah, it is.  There is nothing else, just that I run.  I’ve done more than run.
  • N:  Yes, and we all know that.  
  • C:  But still, according to Google, I’ve done nothing!
  • N: Well, atleast your not a high school cheerleader from Texas.

I felt bad that she was bothered by this.  And she was really bothered by it.  It didn’t help the matter that her father, who, according to her, has done nothing in his life aside from being the mayor of a small town (population 720), is all over the Internet.  The thing is, this friend of mine is an awesome, incredible, fantastic woman.   She should realize that it doesn’t really matter what Google says or doesn’t say about you.  Okay, just had to get that one out of the system.

Keeping on the topic of what you can find out about a person online…

After my 10 year high school reunion, which was in Nov 2005, and which I didn’t go to, I went on this researching kick to find out what people in my graduating class were up to.  (You all do it, so don’t start going…ah, she’s one of those.)  I found some interesting things that I’ve bookmarked and kept up on.  It’s weird because I kinda feel like an Internet stalker, but in a nice benevolent way.  Okay, I’m really not that creepy, I promise. 

Anyhoo, every now and again, I’ll google a name or two and see what’s new with folks I once knew.  Here’s some stuff I’ve found over the the past year.

Among the 300+ Class of 1995 graduates from my high school, there is a sportscasters, a former contestant on The Amazing Race, an actress, a musician and an author.  There are some who have started their own businesses – which, by the way, I think is mighty courageous and pretty darn cool!  And therefore the reason why I’m listing them here:

And these are only the people that I know of.  We are also doctors, teachers, lawyers, bankers, accountants and aspiring politicians.  And of course, last but not least, a world-traveling-trailing-spouse-stay-at-home-mom-soon-to-be-30-wanna-be-writer.

I think being able to enjoy the successes of your fellow classmates and friends is awesome.  I have to admit that I honestly thought that I would write this particular post being all bitter and stuff about all the amazing things these people have done, but I’m not.  I’m a lot more mature and grown up then I give myself credit for.  It’s not about what they’ve done versus what I have not.  I’m excited for them and kinda sad that I don’t really know most of them anymore.  Just glad that at least I have Google to keep me up-to-date and well-informed.

If you are a member of the Clarkstown High School Class of 1995, doesn’t matter if we were once best of friends or merely acquaintances,  drop me a line and fill me in on what you’re up to.  I’d love to hear from you.  And if you don’t want to respond by posting a comment on this blog, feel free to email me at avoidingcrisis at gmail dot com

Written by nicolemarie

March 3, 2007 at 9:42 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Well – if I can have an amazing friend like you I must have done something right. Take that Google!!

    Corinne

    March 4, 2007 at 3:23 pm


Leave a Reply

